Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Jim Cuddy Rocks! (and so do I!)

Hey Y’all! Wow! It’s been a long time since my last and only entry…apparently I suck. It’s been a long and exhausting year. Brad and I split up late last November – it was a hard time…my heart shattered and I’ve still not fully recovered. He was the one. Oddly enough, we’ve remained the closest of friends and, with the exception of my week in beautiful Mexico, have talked every single day. He is an amazing person – even when he is cranky.

In January, my granddad, the great Brent Reid, became quite ill and in early February he left us here to continue on with my wonderful and beautiful grandmother, Betty, who we lost to cancer in ’99. For those years in between he was waiting patiently to be with her again.

In April I vacationed with Steph in Mexico in the Mayan Riviera…I would consider leaving this place for the evenings alone..I loved it and can’t wait to go back..hopefully this coming spring.

In May, poor Belle got sick with Leukemia, which is what Bo died from. I suspect Bo passed it on to her and it took this long for it to rear its ugly head. The illness settled in Belle’s tummy and she couldn’t keep a darn thing down. Poor thing…I can’t tell you how many times I had to clean up kitty puke from my lovely beige carpet. I was distraught to say the least, but made the choise and finally took her to the vet. She now resides in the backyard of my mom and dad’s house.

(And to top this off, I decided to take BJ to the vet to get him tested/vaccinated and the effer got out of his harness and my arms and I haven’t seen him since. I believe this was God’s way of saying "Girl, you cannot put down another cat!").

In August, September and November Matt, Vanessa and Heather all moved away, respectively. Anic left us in May but when she was home for a visit in September we reunited the Yahtzee girls and got everything back on track. I miss all of you and can’t for us all to be together again. Thank goodness for Amy who’s keeping me sane with gossip and her bad spelling (bad spellers of the world unite – so I can slap you all in the face! – lol).

On August 1 I suffered a neck injury…on August 5 I developed a cough which turned into bronchitis and then full-blown pneumonia. After about 3 & 1/2 weeks my neck was back to normal but I was still sick…and here, on December 6 the doctors are still trying to determine what the hell is wrong with me. In the last 4 months I’ve been on more drugs and inhalers then you can imagine. For the 1st two months I was at the Dr. at least once a week….tests, blood work, xrays, cat scans, ultrasound of my heart, internal medicine – yadda yadda yadda. The pharmacist says to me "It’s a good thing you have a drug plan!" Doctor says she’s going to put a plaque on a chair in the waiting room for me. Receptionists all say "see you next week!" This week Dr. tells me she’s at "the end of her rope" b/c she has no idea what’s wrong with me. Four more Dr. appointments this month including internal medicine, ears, nose and throat specalist and the surgeon (for the tumor in my knee – completely unrelated for once). We’ll see what the new year brings. Hopefully some answers or better lungs.

In June, after being kitty free for awhile, Brad and I went to Kingston to bring me home a new baby. He’s actually BJ’s sibling (from another litter). He was only a few weeks old when we picked him up but I was in love instantly. We went STRAIGHT to the vet to get him tested and vaccinated. Nice and healthy boy. He’s all white (with a few spots of pink lately b/c he won’t stay out of the makeup!) and purrs like nothing I’ve ever heard before. I named him Winston after a client…a strange little Asian man with no phone etiquette.

If any of you reading this haven’t heard Jim Cuddy’s new CD "The Light that Guides You Home" I highly recommend it. I’m totally in love with it right now. I had a huge crush on him in the 80’s (this was after Kirk Cameron and pre-New Kids on the Block) and his voice will make you melt. Blue Rodeo is one of the hardest working, if not the hardest working, bands in Canada and Jim Cuddy has the best voice ever! And those eyes…..*sigh*….what else can I say? He’s hot in every respect.

A little note for Ames and the rest of you…"a lot" is two words; unless you’re sending them, it is never "regards’ but instead "regard" (ie. In regard, with regard, etc.); "Your" shows ownership, "you’re = you are"…I could go on and on but unfortunately, no one will listen to me.

Work is going well, I’ve hit every quota for the past year and have made lots of moola in bonuses, alone. Have one more to reach and then we start all over again. With Christmas right around the corner, extra money will always come in handy, although I’ll probably end up buying myself a new purse or something.

Until the next time, be sure to check out Blue Rodeo or Jim Cuddy music, be nice to each other and go to savedarfur.com to see what you can do.

Cheers~

~Sandy

One response

  1. Ms Nothing

    OK I THINK IT IS ABOUT DAMN TIME THAT SANDY FINALLY STARTED DOING HER WEEKEND UPDATES…HOW ARE WE ALL TO LIVE VICARIOUSLY THROUGH HER IF SHE DOES NOT KEEP US UP-TO-DATE????

    December 12, 2006 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

