Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

How many days till Flip Flop season??

Hello all,

My oh my, what a tiring weekend. It was a fairly busy one this time around.

Friday night I went over to Cat’s to help her clean the house for Jamie’s party the next day (my brother is still working away in AB.). We cleaned the kitchen mostly – swept, mopped, cleared counters and tables, did dishes, organized salt & pepper shakers, etc. Cat wanted to change her table cloth but it was wrinkled so I volunteered to throw it in the dryer for a few minutes. While I was waiting for it to warm and straighten I sorted and folded her laundry. Sick, I know.

After cleaning I went to Amy’s and we watched a movie and gabbed (I told her how the hot pilot I’d gone on one date with almost a year ago asked me out for Sunday. My rule was that he had to call me and make plans since we were corresponding via IM. He said he would phone me Saturday evening). Please don’t rent “The Black Dahlia” unless you want to waste a few dollars and are determined to be confused and super-pissed at the end of the film that you’ll never get those 2 & 1/2 + hours back…ever. From Amy’s I went home and had quality time with Winston and then went to bed.

Saturday was Jamie (aka The Boy)’s 2nd birthday (which Cat and I were cleaning for). I skipped the kids’ party (family party is happening when my brother is back). Amy and I met at the Cobblestone around 1pm and from there went to the matinee. We say “Catch and Release” – it’s a really good girl movie. Very yummy boy (Timothy Olyphant) with nice, white teeth in it. He gets the shirt…but not the Yahtzee shirt, the Rachel Ray “YUM-O” shirt. Hee hee.

Ironically, the hot pilot was at the theater…with a woman. Interesting. We made eye contact a few times but he seemed pretty clueless as to who I was and I wasn’t going to approach him.

From the theater I went to my parents’ for a quick visit and then home. In the early evening I went over to Cat’s to see the boy on his birthday. He’s so funny. He’s very interested in his trucks and tractors – and loved the Tickle me Elmo Extreme my parents got him…until you took him out of the box. Then Jamie had a fit and begged us to put him back in the box. Heartbreaking. Once my mom and dad left, Jamie and I played and Cat and I chatted and then it was time to go.

Steve came over and we hung out for hours (he hogs Winston when he’s over, but Winston knows who feeds him, so it’s all good!) while I waited for Clinton (Clin-Tone!) to call. He works for Eastlink and was covering the basketball game at Acadia. I told him to crash at my place since none of the Yahtzee heads have seen him in close to 3 years.
Mid-evening, Mr. Pilot (who’s actually less-hot since last year) called to make plans for the following date. “Are you available?” he asked…”Are you?” came my glib reply. I confirmed that it was him who I’d seen that day and could actually hear the “deer-caught-in-headlights-look” in his voice. He attempted to make plans for the next day (still!) and I told him I wasn’t about stepping on toes, etc. and didn’t want to do things that were gonna get me in trouble, as it seemed he was already doing. I don’t understand guys (and gals) who feel the need to cheat. He told me he was divorced…so my only remaining question is “who is this lady?” Is she a wife? A girlfriend? The mistress? Meh. I’m not worried about it. He’s off the radar. Although, I might go a little further with my bitchiness and post a picture or two of this dude. Is that wrong? Heh heh (evil laugh ensues).

Well, Mr. Clinton didn’t phone until after midnight but he did come over and of course the 3 of us gabbed for a few hours. Eventually, Steve went home but Clinton and I caught up on who we still see and what everyone’s doing, looked at pics, told our sob stories and finally I told him I was going to bed.

Sunday morning I woke up and when Clinton woke we made plans to go for breakfast. I tried to catch Amy in time to join us, but she was already on her way to her dad’s to help him paint. So, Clinton and I got ready and headed out. (I was very excited to, having tried on my “Kingstec jeans” found that they fit and were wearable. In fact, I was so excited I called and woke Heather just to tell her. Standing-only pants back in!).

After brunch, Clinton went on his merry way and I had to run back up to my mom and dad’s since I forgot what I went to pick up the day before. From there did a wee bit of shopping then headed home. Steve stopped by for a bit and brought me the Jim Cuddy interview we’ve been trying to burn for forever. Yay. I made him watch the whole thing. 😀 After he left, Amy popped by. We gabbed then she left me. I laid on the couch and read for a few hours – too tired to do anything else. I finally finished my book (“The Lovely Bones” by Alice Sebold. Very good, I highly recommend it. You’ll cry.) I continued my lounging on the couch for the rest of the evening and then at 10pm, called it an early night. My eyes were burning. I needed sleep.

That’s it!

Just a note, today is the 1st anniversary of my grandfather’s (the great Brent Reid) death. I hope he is in heaven dancing with my nan and playing his fiddle.

Kisses.

~Sandy

5 responses

  1. Ms Nothing

    What a blessing to have Sandy in our lives… She keeps us all entertained and laughing with her exploits… No it is NOT wrong to post pictures of the pilot.  Just as a side note, there are all types of reasons for cheating… And yes most of them are bad but depending on your situation it is not as bad as it could be.  Anyway…off that topic.  Sandy, thank you for keeping me entertained every Monday on how your life is going. I miss our 2-3 hour telephone conversations. 

    January 29, 2007 at 2:07 pm

  2. steve

    Winston loves me

    January 30, 2007 at 6:30 pm

  3. Cat

    You know the sad part? I still haven\’t gone down to bring said laundry out of the basement!
    *blush*

    January 31, 2007 at 12:07 pm

  4. sandy

    Steve: You keep telling yourself whatever you need to if it helps you sleep at night! 😛

    Cat: That is both funny and quite, quite sad. Would you like me to pop over and put the laundry away for you?

    January 31, 2007 at 3:17 pm

  5. Cat

    YES PLEASE.
     
    Or maybe just pop over and play with the boy while I haul ass and tidy some more. You can tell me which clothes to toss out. *grin*

    February 1, 2007 at 1:26 pm

Leave a Reply

