Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

“I’m Going Really Fast!!”

Hey Hobos…
 
Okay, so the title may not make any sense but the story is really funny…thank you Amy.  I’m now one of those simpletons you see driving down the street laughing to herself.  Wonderful.  All it takes is for me to think of that story, Kim and me saying "Mnore" (long but hilarious story) and the OBVIOUSLY drug-induced keyboard player on the Blue Rodeo DVD (Amy and I can’t have a visit without watching him over and over).
 
Anyways, let’s get the details over with.  I’m FINALLY starting to come around.  Have been going to physio and am hoping that within a week or two I’ll be able to walk upright and without pain again.  My back/walking problems sorta remind me of George Orwell’s Animal Farm ("Four legs bad, 2 legs good" – only for me, it’s the opposite.  Or I could just resort to the crawl thing, but I haven’t really had to partake in that since Kim and I went to Montreal for March Break 10+ years ago…and even then it was self-inflicted.  *sigh* THOSE were the days!)
 
Alrighty, so, early Friday evening my mom and dad were arriving home from the Dominican and Cat and I had been "instructed" to meet them at home around 6:30.  So, at 4 or so Amy and I met up at the Cobblestone for chatter and then from there I went to the house.  I took over the couch and waited for my parents.  Cat and the boy showed up around 7ish and I played with him (I didn’t move from my warm ass-groove, however, but he and I had fun) until ma and pa finally arrived.  Hung out with them for a bit and then I headed out around 8:30.
 
I stopped into Jeff’s as I hadn’t really seen him since probably mid-September but now that he’s single again I guess he’s permitted to see his friends again.  How lucky for us.  Anyhoo, ran into "Ralph Wiggum" when I got there who (apparently) is now a roommate of Jeff & Keith’s.  Interesting.  Good to catch up and get hugs tho.  So, Jeff and I vegged out on the couch, chatted and watched Bridget Jones 2 on TV.   When it ended I headed home.  Figured I should come home and feed Winston.
 
Saturday I got to sleep in…it was GOOD!  Amy and I met up at Books Galore in Coldbrook and did some browsing.  Then we hit Walmart and eventually we made our way back to my car.  From there I stopped in to visit with Heather’s parents, who I haven’t seen since just before Christmas.  It was a nice visit.  Caught them up and got caught up.  And even made plans with Jim, Heather’s brother, not Cuddy :P, to get working on a little massage therapy.  I suppose it can’t hurt.  Actually, that’s bullshit!  The last time I had a massage (for medical purposes, as well) I ended up with a neck injury and couldn’t move my head for 3 weeks.  See?  Things on me break easily.  Left the Boyd’s and came home.  Steve came over in the evening and we chilled and eventually we put on a movie.  He picked out "Jaws’ which I was more then happy with.  And finally, I hit the sack.
 
Sunday (today) I got to sleep in again!  Whoot!  Winston let me sleep till almost noon.  It was a little ridiculous.  I NEVER sleep that late…the little effer usually sits outside the door and scratches and whines at 8am.  I enjoyed my rest tho.  Mmm.  Amy and I met up around 3 for coffee in Coldbrook and then I went to my parents for dinner and then back home.  I did stop in to visit with Kim M. on the way home but she was busy with Miss Mallory so I had to take a raincheck.  I did a little bit of work this evening, since I’m gonna be late tomorrow 😀  Trying to be a good employee *rolls eyes*  Whatever.  And pretty much, that’s it.  I slept too long today to make anything of it. 
 
Next week is looking good for fun already.  Amy and I have some good plans for Saturday.
 
Wednesday is gonna be busy w/physio and doctor appointments (but I finally get to go back to the surgeon…wonder if he’ll ask me to drop my pants again.  He’ll have to get me drunk first (or AT LEAST buy me dinner).  Will let you all know when the leg’s comin’ off.
 
Have a great week….leave me comments dammit…I’m gonna attempt to put in a full week (minus the appts.) and will require some decent literature for sanity purposes.
 
Cheers!
~Sandy
PS – Is it wrong that I had a dream this morning of Greg Keelor aka homeless Greg circa 1993 last night?  Does this mean I’m cheating on Jim.  Lol.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
21 responses

  1. Cat

    Leaving you a comment. Just so you have something to read, poor thing. As far as the dream – it depends on what you two were DOING.
     
    How was supper last night? Yummy? B\’s mom made s&s meatballs and oven baked chicken rice. And biscuits. And cornmeal muffins. And banana bread. And thumbprint cookies. Mmmmm…..
     
    Glad to hear you are starting to feel better. You\’d better be careful and not wreck it!

    March 19, 2007 at 9:42 am

  2. sandy

    Holy…that\’s more food than I eat in a week.
    I had a massage this morning…it was NICE. Heehee. I\’m still feeling the effects of it. It kinda feels like I\’m morphine without the side effects.
    I can\’t tell you about my Greg dream, but it wasn\’t too dirty…dammit! 😛

    March 19, 2007 at 1:08 pm

  3. Ms Nothing

    Sandy I agree with you, thats more food then I eat in 4 days…Of course most of it I couldnt eat anyway…way toooo much gluten and carbohydrates for my body to digest…lol…
     
    Sandy you will never be a simpleton…a crash test dummy yes…In fact, I think you should apply to some companies that use humans as their test subjects…I bet you would fit in just perfectly….ROFLMFAO….wooohooo….
     
     

    March 19, 2007 at 2:20 pm

  4. sandy

    Aren\’t you just merry little fucking Sunshine!

    March 19, 2007 at 2:25 pm

  5. Ms Nothing

    I am always a ray of sunshine… except when I am being a bitch and/or making fun of you and your "accidents"…I am beginning to think you have "accidents" on purpose…Not sure why you would but just seems like you are…LMAO… Just kidding… I know you are just accident prone… Hope you feel better soon…one of these days you are going to see my nice clean apartment and there will be nothing for you to clean or pick up…haha… miss obsessive compulsive….lol….

    March 19, 2007 at 5:24 pm

  6. sandy

    I do it for attention.  😀

    March 19, 2007 at 5:25 pm

  7. Ms Nothing

    LMAO…No I cant see you doing anything for attention…but a good excuse it is….

    March 19, 2007 at 7:15 pm

  8. Cat

    Just for your amusement, I will post what I posted in my journal with regards to food on March 16th:
     

    Ahh. I am going to burn in weight gain hell.I brought my own food today.What I brought:chicken breast, broccoli, mashed potato/turnip, baked potato, 2 hard boiled eggs, cheerios, a pear.What I ate:bacon and eggs with toast and home fries, mashed potato/turnip, a pear, hot apple cider (from mix – 120 calories), grilled cheese with fries (and ketchup I never use ketchup), a rather large (aka "medium" – it\’s like 2 cups?) cherry vanilla chiller from Second Cup (read – some slushie thing that tastes like mushed up icecream), stuffed grape leaves, and cheesecake from Boston Pizza.WTH???
     
    And March 9th:
     
    Of course, today I had about 600 calories in just cheese, and then dressing and dip for salad and veggies, as well as several slices of "mock chicken loaf" deli meat (me and my gourmet food choices!), 5 rolls, a double double from Tim\’s, a second cup apple cider (120 calories) and sugar in the tea I am currently drinking. OH! And avocado spread on my sandwiches instead of butter, so about a third of an avocado. So yeah. I am doing just stellar with the eating.

    March 21, 2007 at 11:11 am

  9. Cat

    Keep in mind, this only included food I ate before supper. Har!

    March 21, 2007 at 11:13 am

  10. sandy

    Cat, before I say anything else you should go back to one of my original posts (re: Lessons in Grammar and Spelling {or something like that})…"I posted in my journal with regards to food" – It\’s "with REGARD" (remember, unless you\’re sending them it\’s always regard). *Big grin*

    What are grape leaves?

    Lmao at all the food. But I suppose, you\’re eating for 2 now, right? Still, that\’s a lot of food. That\’s more food than I consume in a week.

    March 21, 2007 at 12:08 pm

  11. Cat

    Yeah, yeah, I was WRONG. Are you happy now?!
     
    The menu is somewhat typical of me. I eat a lot of damn food. Making up for all the years when I ate almost nothing as a little kid. Ha!
     
    Grape leaves are just that, grape leaves. They are green leafy things, which they wrap around a mix of rice and ground lamb or beef and whatever for flavour, and cook. And around here they tend to come in some oil/lemon sauce or something, so they taste tangy. Mmm.

    March 22, 2007 at 8:12 am

  12. sandy

    Guess what? I can\’t have chocolate anymore. *CRIES HYSTERICALLY!* I\’ll explain later. Please pity me.

    March 22, 2007 at 3:31 pm

  13. sandy

    Guess what? I can\’t have chocolate anymore. *CRIES HYSTERICALLY!* I\’ll explain later. Please pity me.

    March 22, 2007 at 3:31 pm

  14. Ms Nothing

    Cat: I think you might need to add some more food to your diet…NOT…wow… you do eat a lot… I consume probably half of that in a 3 days…in other words, that is 3 days worth of food for me… Sandy… I know how you feel about chocolate…This is how I feel about white bread…I cried for days when I was told I was no longer allowed to eat it… 😦  Rice cakes really are not all that bad… Just have to add something to them for taste…haha… Keep it going girls… I enjoy your ongoing conversations on here… Keeps me entertained…

    March 22, 2007 at 8:25 pm

  15. sandy

    Okay Elizabeth, I have a question: is it just white bread or is it bread in general?  Because if it\’s just white bread you could eat whole grain (it\’s better for you anyway).  The only bread I eat is moldy b/c I don\’t eat it and forget it in the cupboard.  I don\’t think I\’ve boughten a loaf since Brad and I broke up.  It\’s probably the same loaf in the cupboard.  Haha.  Ew.

    March 22, 2007 at 9:26 pm

  16. Ms Nothing

    Bread in general but I miss white bread the most… sad face… No longer allowed to eat anything that has wheat of any kind in it…

    March 23, 2007 at 2:16 pm

  17. sandy

    Can you find a wheat subsitute?

    March 23, 2007 at 2:22 pm

  18. Cat

    Is it wheat in general, or do you have issues with gluten?  I ask because I am Google Girl and finding alternatives sounds like a good challenge for Google Girl. hehe
     
    Yes, I do rather eat a lot. I have been eating a lot less recently (though probably still a lot). It tends to go in cycles.
     
    Sandy! Where\’s our effin\’ weekend update for this week?! And what\’s this all about chocolate? (You will need to learn more about Carob, it sounds like…)

    March 27, 2007 at 1:04 pm

  19. Ms Nothing

    Ladies…Gluten… Not allowed to eat anything that has gluten in it… So the nutritionist and I looked at my daily nutrition intake and she told me that even she would not have put me on such a strict diet…but hey I got rid of the constant running to the bathroom…So now rice, rice, rice…did I mention that I eat rice??? LOL…
     
    Sandy thanks for the update… Your den of boredom is as bad as mine is…
     
    Cat…If you are the google girl, I need a quick, easy recipe for gluten free, diabetic cookies…haha…good luck…I have been looking for ages… If you find a recipe that has very little sugar in it, that would be fine as well… Hmmm…what else do I need?  Thats it… Just craving cookies…Miss peanut butter cookies…
     
    Have a great day ladies…and anyone else who reads this blog…
     
    E

    March 27, 2007 at 3:08 pm

  20. Cat

    Diabetic (though not sugar-free) and Gluten Free…. Not all cookies, either, but still…
     
    Chocolate Chip and Cherry Cookies
    http://www.childrenwithdiabetes.com/recipes/d_08_2dv.htm
     
    Gluten-Free Cupcakes
    http://www.childrenwithdiabetes.com/recipes/d_08_2do.htm
     
    Banana Muffins
    http://www.childrenwithdiabetes.com/recipes/d_08_2du.htm
     
    Xylitol Brownies (gluten free)
    http://www.wheatfreefood.com/DiabeticRecipes.html#Brownies
     
    Super Low Sugar Soy Shake
    http://www.wheatfreefood.com/DiabeticRecipes.html#Shake
     
    Flan (gluten free, wheat free, sugar free)
    http://www.wheatfreefood.com/DiabeticRecipes.html#Flan
     
    Sugar Free Apple Crisp
    http://www.wheatfreefood.com/DiabeticRecipes.html#Apple
     
    FRESH STRAWBERRY MUFFINS No Added Fat, Sugar-Free, Wheat-Free, Gluten-Free
    http://www.noweightgaincookbooks.com/Sample_Recipe.htm
     
    Gluten Free Pudding
    http://www.gluten-free-online.com/Recipe44.htm
     
     

    March 28, 2007 at 10:04 am

  21. Ms Nothing

    OK Someone definately is the google girl of the century… I havent been able to find half that many recipes…Thanks Cat…I appreciate it… Sorry doing this on your blog Sandy…

    March 28, 2007 at 5:30 pm

Leave a Reply

