Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

My High School was NOT a Musical….

Since I’m not going to waste any time on a new Blog until someone posts something I thought I’d have a little fun in the meantime:
My High School was NOT a Musical….
1. Who was your best friend?
Kim P. (still is, for more than 15 years – wow, does that make me sound old?)
2. What sports did you play?
Rugby & softball – for a bit…after-school activities interferred with my social life.

3. What kind of car did you drive?
1984 Chevy Blazer 4WD

4. It’s Friday night, where were you?
Either at Laddie and Derek’s party or somewhere causing trouble with Kim

5. Were you a party animal?
Maybe a bit

6. Were you considered a flirt?
Yes and no

7. Ever skip school?
Gawd yes (and Mrs. Young liked me and would let me sign out whenever I wanted)

8. Ever smoke?
No

9. Were you a nerd?
No

10. Did you get suspended/expelled?
I got suspended at the end of grade 11 for a day and a half for fighting. It was a joke!

11. Can you sing the Alma Mater?
Um… Did we have one? Does “O Canada” count?….wait…we sang AC/DC’s “Thunderstruck” at hockey games..and on occasion we did the “HD, HDH, HDHS LET’S GO!”

12. Who was your favorite teacher?
Shep, Lugar & Leslie – and Mr. Townsend was great for subbing b/c you could ditch class and he was just so not with it (and the stories to tell later in life never fail to entertain or to send me to Hell, eh Tanya?)

13. Favorite class?
I liked English, Drama, Soc and Law

14. What was your school’s full name?
Horton DISTRICT High School

15. School mascot?
Griffin/Gryphon

16. Did you go to Prom?
Yes – I went to many

17. If you could go back and do it over, would you?
I don’t know if I’d do it all over again but I had a blast in high school – miss it

18. What do you remember most about graduation?
I broke my ankle the night before the prom while I was at the school decorating so I had to go to prom and grad on crutches – but I had a blast and the parties were worth it!

19. Favorite memory of your Senior Year?
Had so many great memories it’s hard to narrow it down to one but I remember getting in a car accident during the final English exam. Shep would let you leave after the vocab part and do whatever the heck you wanted as long as the exam was handed in by 5.  Kim & I grabbed lunch at McD’s and on the way back got rearended…other dude’s car was wrote off while mine had a little bump in the bumper (hence the name, I guess). We finished our exam after all the hoopla died down & parents were called and THEN went to the hospital. Turns out we got one of the highest marks on the exam.

20. Where were you on senior skip day?
We actually called it Senior Ditch Day and I went to the liquor store (yes, I was underage) and bought booze for my group, then we went to Lumsdens to swim and then to party

21. Did you have a job your senior year?
No.

22. Where did you go most often for lunch?
Senior year I was either in the hallway by the woodshop room causing trouble or else Kim and I were in New Minas at the BK Lounge or wherever

23. Have you gained weight since then?
I lost weight, gained it and have lost it again (I broke the other ankle in college and put on some weight after that – I have bad luck with my feet)

24. What did you do after graduation?
Right after I went to the grad party.  🙂  Then I worked and then went to college and now I have a great career

25. What were you known for in high school?

Not being there 😉
26. Who was President?
When I left Bill Clinton was pres.  When I started it was Bush Sr.  And Jean Cretient was Prime Minister *waves Canadian flag*
27. When did you graduate?
1995
8 responses

  1. Tanya

    12. Who was your favorite teacher?Shep, Lugar & Leslie – and Mr. Townsend was great for subbing b/c you could ditch class and he was just so not with it (and the stories to tell later in life never fail to entertain or to send me to Hell, eh Tanya?)*does her best Mr Townsend impression*"Thandra!!! Thandra!!!!!"

    August 26, 2009 at 10:08 pm

  2. sandy

    One of these days I am going to break down and tell EVERYONE the Mr. "Townthend Thory"…I still feel bad but then I think about that exam and how he effed me on it. 🙂 And then I have less guilt.

    August 26, 2009 at 10:13 pm

  3. Tanya

    He was always so grouchy for us. Grouchy ol\’ Spit \’n\’ Sputter.

    August 26, 2009 at 10:18 pm

  4. Lisa

    I\’m sooo not surprised Drama was one of your favorite classes…LOL. And while you went to many proms…I went to NONE! LOL.

    August 28, 2009 at 2:39 pm

  5. sandy

    Poor Mr. Townsend. I feel so bad b/c he was such a nice guy to us. I saw him last week at Sobey\’s, Tanya…I looked the other way. :(Lisa…you missed your prom? What the hell? Maybe I\’ll have a prom-themed party sometime. 🙂 OR ..we could just wear ballgowns for the hell of it! That\’s what I plan on doing when I get married. I\’m wearing my wedding dress EVERYWHERE…grocery store, Walmart, gardening (well, I don\’t garden but if I did, I\’d wear my wedding dress).

    August 28, 2009 at 2:44 pm

  6. not

    I liked Drama Classes…. they were soo much fun!!! Mr, Lugar was a good teacher. Is he still teaching? You know i went to prom by myself. I wasn\’t gonna let no man stop me from going, lol….. but I had a good time though! I dont think i would want to do it all over again. (High School) Once was a enough, too many heart breaks, and friends fighting. Yup it wasn\’t a musical that\’s for sure, yeah there were some happy times. Going to blue beach parties and hockey games with gina (my sister) and my cuzin\’s were my highlights of Horton! All good! I must say Sandy this is a good blog it really makes you think of past. Thanks.

    August 30, 2009 at 12:07 pm

  7. sandy

    I\’mthinking that one of my next Blogs should be the explanation of the Mr. Townsend story. It\’s hilarious to those who know (Tanya) and still funny every single time I tell it. Although, I do have guilt and await my nice warm spot in hell.

    September 22, 2009 at 9:42 pm

  8. Tanya

    HAHA.You totally should let the world in on the Mr Townsend story. Let his legacy live on!And Amy, Mr Lugar\’s teaching at NKEC. English I think actually. At least, that\’s the last I heard.

    September 22, 2009 at 9:59 pm

Leave a Reply

