Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

FEARLESS

The other day Blair and I went for a hike to find falls down by his place.  We had a great little trip on the trail (even in my brown capris and mismatched {one pink, one burgandy} socks) and once we got to our destination it was worth the trek…breathtaking.
 
There was a lady sitting on a rock watching as her husband and younger sons jumped from a high cliff into the pool of water below.  I would have loved to have jumped along with them but I wasn’t going to walk all the way back to the car soaking wet and freezing.  But I was envious of them.  And it got me to thinking….about how I am a lot less fearless than I was 10 and 15 years ago.  There was a time when NOTHING would have stopped me from jumping off that cliff and flying through the air like a free bird (or an idiot).
 
In fact, there were times when I did JUST that!  I remember when I was about 17 jumping many-a-time from the cliff at the White Rock Reservoir.  Just me and my tan swimsuit and holding on for dear life to Marcie Lane’s hand as we ran and jumped into nothingness until we eventually plunged into the rolling river below.  
 
I can’t recall how many times I’d jumped off the bridge at the start of the Canal….and the times when Kim and I jumped off in the dark in our underwear.  I think about doing multiple shots of Tequila until the bottle was empty on a dare (to which the end results were not pretty). 
 
I remember being able to ride any roller coaster or carnival ride and not giving a second thought to the height or the speed or the rickety bolts squeaking as we turned upside down and every which way.  I can’t imagine doing that now.  I keep playing thru my mind the thought of the coaster speeding off trail and into the open air and then plunging at unidentifiable speeds into the concrete and crowds below (thank you CSI). 

 I wonder at what point did I become such a pussy?  I’m a huge wimp now and I reflect on my life and wonder when it happened.  When did I become such a *gulp* grownup?? 

Certainly, it’s great to be safe and mature and cautious….but wasn’t fearlessness about fun and freedom?  Don’t get me wrong, I am still having fun…I’m my own barrell of monkeys…but it seems these days I am choosing fun that’s more risk-free and responsible (anyone for a game of cards??  No?).  WTF?  I am such a wiener.  So here it is…when next I have the opportunity I WILL be jumping off a cliff (or bridge)….I will take the plunge into the open air and fall gracefully (well, maybe gracefully SCREAMING) into the water that awaits me.  Unless, of course, it’s too cold.  🙂

 I will let you know how it turns out.

 Cheers,

~Sandy

9 responses

  1. amy

    If the jump doesn\’t kill you, I will!! And we are going to have a talk MISSY! about when the hell you jumped off three pools!!

    September 11, 2009 at 11:48 pm

  2. amy

    Oh, and by the way, you don\’t get weinie, you get brains!!

    September 11, 2009 at 11:49 pm

  3. sandy

    I never jumped off Three Pools, dummy…that would be your genious son.

    September 12, 2009 at 8:55 am

  4. Tanya

    I\’m the exact same way. I think just the reality of everything begins to set in. For example. I\’ve never been on a train (except once when I was like, 4. And that was just Windsor to Kentville, and I don\’t remember it). Anyways, so for my birthday, Chris arranged a train ride from here to Truro and spent the weekend there. Weekend was awesome, but the train kept freaking me out. Y\’see all those videos about cars getting stuck on the tracks, and the train plowing through them. Or horrible images of trains getting derailed. I spent the entire train ride back here today, asking Chris "So… what would happen to the train if such \’n\’ such happened? Do animals get on the tracks? Would colliding with a car do disastrous things to the train? Could a rock on the rail derail the train?" I enjoyed myself, but I was still scared. But because of reality. Fears (most of them) make sense. People are scared of water; why? Cuz you can drown. People are scared of heights; why? Because they could fall to their deaths (or bad injury). People are scared of going out at night; why? For the fear that others might attack.Fear I guess is your body\’s way of life-preservation. Um… sorry about the book. 🙂

    September 13, 2009 at 12:53 am

  5. sandy

    What book?

    September 13, 2009 at 9:48 am

  6. Tanya

    Sorry for writing a book as a response.

    September 13, 2009 at 1:16 pm

  7. sandy

    Oh..Duh!…I\’m so pretty. *twirls hair*

    September 14, 2009 at 10:03 pm

  8. Tanya

    *snort* Good cover.

    September 17, 2009 at 11:54 pm

  9. Cat

    Oops, haven\’t been here in ages.If it makes you feel any better, I was always a wienie. *shuffle* Nothing short of imminent death is likely to convince me to jump off a cliff. But yeah, the older I get, the more scaredy-catty I get too. More exposure to the stories of consequences and one\’s own mortality, I guess.

    October 19, 2009 at 12:20 am

Leave a Reply

