Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

My New Favorite Things

My New Favorite Things

Alrighty…well, I am officially unemployed.  Today was my first day and I am already ready to go insane.  But I figured I’d start my "new life" with a new blog post.  I’ve decided to share a few of my favorite new things.
 
1) ZUMBA – I am so gaga over this new workout.  It’s an insane workout but it’s so much fun.  I can’t believe how much fun it is and how many body parts get moved.  I think this is something I may become addicted to.  I’m actually addicted already but I can see it becoming more than a phase.
 
2) Solas – www.solasnaturals.com  This is a wonderful local company and their products are mostly organic and (some) vegan.  The lip balms are wonderful…so moisturizing, lightweight and yummy smelling (and tasting, if you happen to lick your lips like I’ve been doing).  The company makes many products, including soy candles, soaps, scrubs and other body products.  And everything is "Made with thought in the Annapolis Valley, NS" – very cool.  (Also see Burnt Out Solutions.)
 
3) Rusk Sensories Purify Tea Tree Oil Shampoo – I bought this at my mom’s salon and it’s so nice.  It smells minty and it feels so good in your hair.  It’s a nice clean.
 
4) Arthur’s Juices & Smoothies – http://arthursjuice.com They make great non-dairy smoothies and use all natural ingredients, sourced from (wherever in) Canada.  
The website is great for finding out pretty much anything you want to know about these yummy treats: ingredients, % of daily intake of nutrients, vitamins, fibre, etc. and what the benefits are (ie. reducing types of cancer).  They are so yummy and nutricious.  My favorite is the Carrot Energizer.  Mmm!!  I love a healthy indulgence.
 
5) Silhouette Satisfaction Yogurt – All I can say is YUMMY! 
 
6) Remember Me (Starring Robert Pattinson) – what a great movie.  The boy has talent far beyond his Twilight career.  The ending of this movie is going to leave you feeling so many emotions – guarantee to piss you off and make you cry.
 
7) Cooking with any and every kind of spice – I don’t use salt (at least if I can help it) but I love cooking and I love flavor.  I have been trying all different kinds of spices lately.  Mix ’em up and trying new things.  Last night Blair and I had chicken breasts tossed in Epicure’s 3 Onion Dip mix with garlic, rosemary and thyme (and some panko) added in.  Very crispy and yummalicious.
 
8) Tim Horton’s raisin tea biscuits – Okay, they’re not really good for you (I’m sure they’re healthier than my favorite honey crueller (OMG YUM!)) but they are so good.  Especially heated (or not) with some soy butter.  Mmm…I could go for one right now.
 
9) Second Hand Shopping – Maybe it’s not my "new" favorite thing but it certainly never gets old.  I LOVE Frenchy shopping.  (Amy I am looking forward to you {and your duel baby bump *she’s having twins, y’all*} and I getting out there and being completely inappropriate.)  If you’re willing to dig a little bit you can find the best buys.  The other day I picked up a brand new pair of jeans (tags were still on ’em), a Calvin Klein dress and a blouse for less than $7 for the lot.  Whoot whoot!!
 
10) An Unfinished Life by Mark Spragg – This was a surprisingly good movie (Robert Redford, Jennifer Lopez, Morgan Freeman and Josh Lucas *drool*) that I saw a few years ago.  It sorta stuck with me and I recently picked up the book.  So far, so good.
 
11) Tabatha’s Salon Takeover – 6pm Saturday evenings on Slice -I LOVE THIS SHOW!  The woman is mad!  I love her.  She goes into a hurting salon (usually deep in debt) and takes over for a week.  She whips the staff into shape, helps with clientele and renovates.  She’s a bitch but she’s good at what she does.  I eagerly await this show to start again as soon as an episode ends.
 
I’m sure there will be more to add to this list.  In the meantime, let me know your favorites.
 
 
5 responses

  1. Tanya

    You know you\’re un-employed when you\’re blogging about your love of the shampoo you just picked up lol!All teasing aside, its nice that you get pleasure (not in the sexual way, perverts) out of the simple things in life. 🙂

    March 29, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  2. sandy

    I got it a while ago…it\’s so nice. And it smells SO good (I love anything minty). My goal is to find a really good cleanser. I used to swear by Aloette products but I\’m not working and won\’t be able to afford it. 🙂 And my skin is too sensitive to use just anything. Boo.

    March 30, 2010 at 1:46 pm

  3. Cat

    Hey, was that barb aimed at anyone in particular? Hmmm?Cleanser – have you tried just a microfiber facecloth and water? It\’s very ch… inexpensive. You can borrow a couple and see if works for you.

    April 1, 2010 at 12:33 pm

  4. sandy

    Cat, what the hell is a barb?I have been using facecloth and water for years, Miss SmartyPants….but I am starting to get old…gotta take better care of my things. 😉

    April 1, 2010 at 2:27 pm

  5. Cat

    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/barb" 2 b : a biting or pointedly critical remark or comment"(re: "its nice that you get pleasure (not in the sexual way, perverts)")Facecloth = crap; microfibre facecloth = removes all crap;)

    April 6, 2010 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

