Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Mmmmm…..Summer!

I love summer.  For so many reasons.  I love the sun.  I love that people are out being touristy, even in their own communities.  I love sitting outside reading or enjoying a class of wine, or even just enjoying the summer evening breeze.  And I certainly love summer food. 
 
As of late, I have been trying to maintain as much a meatless diet thru the week that I can (and eating meat on weekends).  I’m doing it for many reasons and one of them being trying to get my poor tummy issues under control.  The summer is making this so much easier because it’s easier to not cook much in the heat and summer food is just so delicious.  
 
I am obsessed with berries and summer fruit, especially watermelon.  I ALWAYS have watermelon in my fridge.  And I usually take a container of mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries & blackberries) and some chopped watermelon to work with me for a morning snack.
 
Tonight I have the YUMMIEST dinner:  Fresh veggies and new potatoes.  Mmm.  I had green & yellow beans, sugar snap peas and fresh hodge-podge type carrots.  I threw everything in a non-stick pan with a little butter (olive oil is good too but the butter brings out more flavor).  SO GOOD.  And the potatoes….I like to over-boil them so that they fall apart and then I add a little butter and pepper.  Completely delicious.
 
Another new favorite of mine is daikon.  It’s part of the radish family and is wonderfully pungent raw but when you cook it, it is simply great.  I cut it up in thin slices and put it on a pizza pan sprinkled with a little olive oil, spices and a little panko (or, in case of a food emergency, some Shake n’ Bake) and bake it for 10-15 minutes.  I can’t even explain the taste but I’ve got Blair hooked.  
 
Another good little treat that I’m into lately is cauliflower steaks.  After washing the cauliflower cut it like a loaf of bread and basically do the same thing as I do with the daikon.  Cook it for about 10 mins and then flip the steaks and cook for another 5-10 minutes.  A lovely new way to eat an old favorite. 
 
I’m loving the new ways to eat so much…and now is the perfect time to try something new.
 
Cheers y’all.
Leave a Reply

