Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Ain’t No Thing But A Chicken Wing….

Several weeks ago I attended (for several days) the Maritime Fall Fair expo at Exhibition Park. I was there as a “vendor” of sorts for my work, Chicken Farmers of Nova Scotia. For those days we spent hours talking to people – children and adults of every race, religion and age – about chicken production in Nova Scotia and, of course, processing, buying and eating local, the differences between commercial, free-range and organic. And I’ve come up with this conclusion: People have no idea where their food comes from. It’s uncanny. I’m still baffled by the fact that most of the kids we talked to had NO CLUE that chickens (and other farm animals, for that matter) live in barns. No clue. It was idiotic. How can these people not know anything about their food…or at the very least about animals. I mean, it’s not rocket science. Even when I said to them “what’s that big red building called that animals live in?” most of them just stared at me. Some of them offered baffoon-like answers. What are kids learning these days? I mean, animals are the basics of our nurturing. Look at all the children’s books, toys, programs, puzzles, etc. Everything is centered around animals and the barnyard. And I find it even more puzzling that adults (again, of all ages and stations in life) have no idea where their food comes from or what they’re eating. Some of them, of course, will offer up what they think is truth and fact when, in reality they’re just spouting a lot of garbage they either have heard at the water cooler – or- just basically made up to look less stupid. Of course, thankfully, there are those who were happy to ask questions (which I prompt EVERYONE to do). The chicken industry in Canada, I must tell you, is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT than that in the US. The Dr. Oz show gave us a run for our money that week (please note that Canadian chicken does not contain arsenic, contains no hormones or steroids, that chickens are raised in clean and warm barns {not in cages} and have the ability to roam free at their will. If anyone has any questions please let me know – as Program Coordinator it is now my duty and obligation to be informative and educate the public on the chicken industry). For everyone out there I urge you to find out where your food comes from. All food. Educate yourself on these things (and remember that organic is not always better or healthier). You will all thank yourselves (and me) for it later.

Oh..and for the record….once again, Chickens and farm animals live in BARNS!

Cheers!

2 responses

  1. Elizabeth

    mmmmmmm chicken… mmmmmmmmmm eggs… i like XL brown eggs… mmmmmmm… and I like them fried with the yolk runny… on rice with salsa and sour cream… mmmmmmmmm… I need to get some eggs, salsa and sour cream…

    I know that chickens are raised in a barn and are not caged 🙂

    October 29, 2010 at 1:10 pm

  2. sandypothier

    Your egg recipe sounds so disgusting. Lol. I hope you enjoy it.

    October 29, 2010 at 1:14 pm

Leave a Reply

