Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

WEEKEND PROJECTS

So, thanks to Vanessa for reminding me of all the crap I want/have to do this weekend.  Other than spending some much needed quality time with Amester (and of course baby Xander), my plan is to really start my Christmas shopping, to change around my bedroom and livingroom (and depending on if the damn carpenter is finished, cleaning and putting my bathroom back together *sigh*), making a big batch of meatless chili AND trying out some new recipes, especially one for pumpkin butter.  I am really excited about that one.  I’ll let you all know how it turns out and if it tastes good.  I love pumpkin so I’m thrilled to be trying out different recipes with such a healthy and yummy treat.

Thankfully all the holiday cookbooks are coming out and I’m excited to really get into planning for Christmas parties.  I may trade in my signature Candy Cane Cake this year for a Chocolate Candy Cake Cheesecake (or Cheescake Tarts).  YUMMY!!!  Is it TOO funny that I am already so excited for the holidays? 

Cheers!

~Sandy

Saturday Night Update:  1) Kitchen Counters cleaned!  (Totally lovin’ the Mr. Clean Magic Eraser ({tm}!!!!)  2) Pumpkin Butter made (but still cooling).  3) Christmas shopping started!  4) Lotsa time with Amy today!  YAY!!!!!

Tuesday Afternoon Update:  I lost my internet connection at home Sunday morning and have not regained it yet.  So, right now I’m on my lunch break and figured it’s too cold and rainy to leave the office so here’s the update:  1) The pumpkin butter turned out nicely.  I made a trip to the Dollar store yesterday and picked up the cutest little jars and some decorations.  So, that little project will be on the go tonight.  They will make cute little gifts or parts of centerpieces.  Yay me!!  2) I cleaned and rearranged my bedroom Sunday.  INCLUDING cleaning out the drawers of my dresser and tossing lots of oldies and filling up a bag of things to give away.  It was a productive day.  3) I went to Blair’s yesterday and, as always, helped tidy up his place.  I think I have some sort of sickness.  🙂

OH!  Also on the agenda tonight is to get around to making that meatless chili.  I didn’t bother as I made a dish to take to Deanna’s potluck on Sunday and we all forgot about it…so I left it there and told her to dive in for dinner that night or the next.  *I MUST remember to pick up my dish set from her*  And since I was heading to Blair’s I figured why bother making it.  So…that will have to be a priority this evening.  

Christmas shopping got started the other day.  Whoot de WHOOT!!  🙂  Recipes are being looked at for the parties (as I completely drool over the pages of my cookbooks).  And I have to start getting ready for next week.  Part of it in Toronto, part of it in the Val (and at Blair’s) and the weekend in the USA with Steph.  Winston is gonna hate me.  😦

UPDATE November 10:  CAN I JUST SAY…that my Pumpkin Butter turned out ridiculously delicious.  I jarred and froze it last night.  It’s so good and healthy and it smells like the Holidays!!

4 responses

  1. That’s quite a weekend chore list. I plan on finishing my kitchen, finishing my bathroom and vacuuming my bedroom. I would love to scrub my floors but until I get some javex, I won’t be. Once I am done that, I would like to go to Jean’s and get my Christmas stuff out of her basement… But that can wait until another day, it’s not all that important this weekend. We should do coffee on Sunday afternoon, maybe? I will have Brenton’s car with Larissa and Aleaha…but we can meet at Tim’s in NM if you are free…

    November 5, 2010 at 1:17 pm

  2. Lisa

    mmmm meatless chili. I haven’t made it that way in forever!!!

    November 5, 2010 at 1:18 pm

  3. tanyaslife

    I hear ya on the Christmas cookbooks thing. Chris’s mom has one that I was leafing through, and found a recipe for Egg Nog Pound Cake. I pointed it out to her and very blatantly suggested she should try it.
    She’s making it tonight 🙂

    November 5, 2010 at 2:01 pm

  4. tanyaslife

    You’re throwing me off with these ‘post updates’ rather than new posts.
    (This post is also serving another purpose: to subscribe to your site 😀 )

    November 14, 2010 at 2:24 pm

Leave a Reply

