Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Been Around the World…(okay, not quite, but still)

Whollllly!  What a busy week it’s been.  Last week was the week of travel and wine.  Monday afternoon I headed off to Toronto for a few days for a workshop.  Monday night was free so I had a lovely dinner with Blair’s lovely sister, Alicia.  She’s so cute.  I love her.  Lots of food and wine.  Wine is always the best part.  Aside from the company of course.

Tuesday morning came EARLY with some ahole knocking at 6:45 (and no one was there.  Good thing.  I’m pretty certain whoever put the newspaper down banged.  Accidental or not, I was not thrilled.) I called Blair since I was already awake.  🙂  And then of course got ready for a full day of workshopping.  (Shopping.  Wouldn’t that have been nice.)  In the evening we had a big group dinner away from the hotel/meeting place.  It was nice.  More food.  More wine.  🙂  And I FINALLY got to meet the incredible Greek Goddess, Elizabeth, in person.  So wonderful.  Thank you Blue Rodeo, for bringing us together. 😉

Back at the hotel lounge: More wine.  Then, of course, water.  LOTS of water.  And great conversation.  Some people you meet and you know instantly that you were meant to meet.  Even if only for one day, you were meant to make that friendship and that connection. 

Wednesday morning came early as well, although with no banging on the door.  Made my way down to finish off the workshop and then headed back home to NS.  Of course, I was only home long enough to feed the cat, change the litter and take out the garbage and then speed-demoned my way to see the man.  I missed him so much.  Which is silly b/c even if I hadn’t been away he was working the backshift so I wouldn’t have seen him anyway.  I guess just being out of province and so far away made me miss him more.

Friday I made my way to Steph’s in Truro and arrived to a glass of wine (what was left of the bottle.  Go Steph!!) and early, early, early (5am) Stephanie and I were up and getting ready for our stint in the US.  A great time and well needed time to catch up.  Almost a 20 year friendship and so much to talk about  and reminisce about.  Ah, high school and all that garbage.  (BTW – does anyone ELSE remember having to pick you booze up in the ditch b/c you were underage and you had to pay someone else to buy it and leave it????  Perhaps just a Valley thing??)  A little shopping.  Some food.  Groovy shoes.  Warming my poor, sad knees in the hot tub and then BEDTIME!  Thank goodness.  Baby needs her sleep.

Sunday morning we were up at a decent hour after a good night’s rest and headed back, and shopped on the way.  I left Truro around 11pm Sunday night and boogied my way back to my house.  Winston would have kicked my ass if I hadn’t come home AGAIN and, plus, I really missed my bed.  Monday morning I was up and headed to the man’s.  I missed him again.  One of these days he’s gonna have to clear out that damn garage to make room for my stuff so I can move in.  ❤

Cheers!

3 responses

  1. Elizabeth

    I can completely relate to meeting someone that you were just meant to meet. I have a friend like that… He and his family are beautiful, wonderful and amazing, especially his daughter. I wish I liked wine but alas I do not. It would be nice to sit down and have a glass of wine once in a while. Unfortunately wine tastes like wet dog hair soaked in a wooden barrel full of vinegar… lol…

    I wish my life was as exciting as yours is… But if it were, I wouldn’t be able to live vicariously through you 🙂

    November 24, 2010 at 1:24 pm

  2. sandypothier

    I have no idea what wet dog hair et al. tastes like but I DO know that when I was at Nancy’s the other day waiting for her her dog was sitting on the arm of the chair next to where I was sitting. I was in mid-sentence and turned my head and the damn dog full-on made out with me. Totally licked me on the lip while my mouth was partly open. So gross. Thank goodness I always carry a toothbrush and paste with me.

    November 24, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    • Elizabeth

      Only you could have a dog make out with you… lol… Though I do have kittens who love to sit between my boobs 🙂

      Good to know I am not the only one who carries a toothbrush and tooth paste in my purse… I have a toothbrush for every occasion (damn it I always spell that word wrong)…

      November 24, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Leave a Reply

