Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

My Christmas is Not Complete….

 There are so many wonderful traditions that  I carry over each year that I thought it would be fun to post about them.  SO, my Christmas is not complete without:
 
Watching One Magic Christmas and Elf.  I usually watch OMC at least twice each year.  It’s my favorite Christmas movie.  I also try to watch A Christmas Carol (or Scrooge) {usually watched again on Christmas Eve) and Scrooged (all hail Bill Murray).  And, of course, Ernest Saves Christmas is always a fun one…although, now that I’m older I find Ernest incredibly annoying.
 
I also love to watch the old school stuff like How the Grinch Stole Christmas, A Charlie Brown Christmas, Frosty the Snowman, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer and a few others from the olden days (my childhood).
 
Each and every year I say I’m going to watch It’s A Wonderful Life…however, I still have not managed to see that movie yet.  Maybe this year is the year.  It’d be nice to see the darn thing, a classic, all the way thru.  The attempt will be on again this year but I’m not promising myself.  My brother’s favorite is A Christmas Story, which is also becoming one of my favorites to watch.  But not a necessity (like OMC).
 
Christmas also has to include yummy eggnog and my mom’s chocolate peanut butter “Chestnuts” – they’re my favorite. 
 
I also have to listen to lots of Christmas music – including a tape I made when I was in the 8th grade of the best of the best AND the New Kids on the Block Christmas album – Funky Funky Christmas!!  Love it!!  And the Barenaked Ladies Holiday album is good too.  And fun.  *Edit:  I also usually listen to Harry Connick Jr.’s She album.  It’s not Christmasy but I bought it at Kmart on a Christmas shopping trip with my mom when I was about 16 or 17 and it always reminds me of Christmas and that trip.  It was a perfect shopping day – overcast, a bit snowy, crisp.  And HCJ is so lovely at the jazz!
 
I love going to the mall on Christmas Eve day.  We’ll see if it happens this year.  It’s either deader than dead or else it’s packed so much you can’t move.  I love it either way.  I love the hustle and bustle and noise.  I remember going one Christmas Eve when I was about 16 with my dad.  I had babysat till mid-afternoon and my dad wanted to run down and get a few last minute (all) of his things.  The mall was ridiculously insane.  So much that whenever I picked out anything my dad just said “put it in the cart” so that we could continue on and get out of there.  Sandy (me) ended up with quite a few extra gifts that year (including, as I vividly remember and I was so excited about, Unforgettable perfume by Revlon.  I loved the “put it in the cart” items).  LOL. 

 Christmas is not complete without my big family party (on my mama’s side) or Rappie Pie on Christmas Eve at my grandparents’ house (father’s side).  My mom’s family party is always so much fun.  Everyone crammed together.  Lots of food, games, noise, presents, excitement.  I love it!  It’s almost always a good time.  I wish, however, that my nan, grampie and Aunt Linda were still around to enjoy it with us.  R.I.P.  And Donna, damn you, get your ass and your family back to NS, would ya!!!  Next year????? 

One of the best things about Christmas morning is Christmas BACON!  YAY BACON!!!  🙂  (And after this indulgence {and sometimes before.  WhaT??} we head over to Terry’s to do the gift thing with them.  It’s SO much fun to see how excited the monkeys are.) 

There are so many wonderful traditions and things for Christmas it’s hard to remember them all.  I’m sure little things will be popping into my head from here until December 25.  In the meantime, what are some of your traditions or favorite things?

 *Side note:  One of my funniest memories of Christmas is when I was maybe 12 or 13ish.  We were at my grandparents’ Christmas Eve for Rappie Pie and my cousin Brian persuaded my brother and me to go caroling around the neighborhood.  We were so awful, the three of us, but it was hilarious.  And we had a good time.  And I’m sure some old couple probably took so much joy in the young ones singing in front of their lonely little house.  So that’s all that matters. 

Cheers y’all!

Edit: 12/08/10 – Hey y’all.  So, Friday night I got my Christmas tree up.  Yay!  It’s actually pretty this year…for being a fake.  Winston has been very good with it – he crawls underneath and rests.  Weirdo.  Not like the other kitties (RIP) who knocked down the darn thing in the middle of the night.  Bastards!!

I also got some decorating done.  As well as my baking started (peanut butter pie…YUM!!) and presents wrapped and put under the tree.  Winston is such a big help laying his fat ass across the rolled out paper.  That’s my boy.

Saturday evening I went to the annual Canaan Christmas Potluck (a tradition I’d forgotten about in my original post).  Had a nice dinner with my family and then Cat brought the monkeys for a visit with Santa.  The boys are so adorable.  Aidan, who’s 3, told Santa he wanted “Pajamas.  With feet in them.”  What kind of 3 year old asks Santa for a pajamas???  He eventually had to go back up with my dad to see Santa to also let him know he wanted a monkey.  And Jamie wants a sled.  I’m pretty sure Santa will hook them up.  🙂

Since Friday night I’ve watched Elf twice.  I love it.  It never gets old.  I’m loving all the Christmas specials.  And I’m looking forward to watching One Magic Christmas hopefully this weekend.  I told Blair I’d bring it down so that we can watch it with Abby.  It’s my favorite Christmas movie…of all time.

Preparations are coming for the parties.  The firm party is tomorrow night and I am Angie’s date.  🙂 It will be nice to have a few glasses of wine with former co-workers.  Well, the ones I miss.  🙂

Edit: 12/22/10 – I have watched OMC once so far and started it again.  I believe tonight may be the night for the second turn.  I have SO much baking done.  It’s going to be tempting to not eat the food I’ve made but I’ll have to be on my best behaviour.

I forgot something else that ALWAYS made me happy at Christmas.  It’s one of those things that STILL to this day (probably 25 years or more later) gives me goosebumps (yes, I’m a weirdo too).  What is it, you ask?  It’s the Sobeys “Star of Christmas” commercial:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FRckzCCEBdQ .  I LOVE this commercial.  I haven’t seen it in a few years but now with the magic of YouTube I can watch it anytime I like.  🙂

~S

8 responses

  1. Lisa

    Well one of my new traditions is going over to Malcolm & Christy’s on Christmas eve. Malcolm always reads Twas the night before Christmas to the kids and then once all the kids are in bed, we watch National Lampoons Christmas vacation. we then build whatever has to built, play Santa (love watching the boys eat those cookies as messy as they can!!) It’s soo much fun seeing the excitment on those kids faces on Christmas morning!!!

    Also this year I am starting a new tradition, cooking a turkey on boxing day for may the 3 (soon to be 4) of us! It’ll be our special time as a family on Christmas (even though this year we will have a close friend with me who is without her family this Xmas)

    December 1, 2010 at 11:34 am

    • sandypothier

      Awww…do you remember a few years ago when you were MY close friend without her family on Christmas? We went to my mom and dad’s, to see Steve and Jaime and then watched CSI NY dvds. 🙂
      I misses you.

      December 22, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      • Lisa

        awwww yes I do remember that, and your family was soooooo very kind to me!! I think it was because of you that I got through that Christmas.

        One Christmas I will truly NEVER ever FORGET!!!!!!!!!

        I miss you soooooo very much too, I wish we were closer to each other. I think my New Years Resolution should to work on just that!!

        December 23, 2010 at 10:05 am

  2. A) Funky Funky Christmas!! I LOVE that song!

    B) I miss nannie’s chestnut balls.

    C) I’ve never heard that story about you Terry and dad going caroling. That’d be hilarious!

    December 1, 2010 at 1:02 pm

  3. sandypothier

    Oh, no Tanya. It was at my dad’s parents (sorry, the Rappie Pie must have thrown you off – that’s our traditional Acadienne Christmas Eve dinner)….it was my cousin Brian. Brian’s my age. But it would be hilarious if it had been your dad.

    December 1, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  4. Well Sondra, you managed to make me cry at 8:30 in the morning!

    Obviously our family Christmas party is (one of) my most favorite things about Christmas. then, of course, the Isnor Christmas Boxing Day dinner The kids love this because their cousins on that side of the family are the same age! We really miss having Dusty and Monika around. This year, we will be having Dusty and his girlfriend here at some point. He lives in Vancouver now. So that will be nice. We will Skype with the rest of the family while they are here. We bought Al’s mother a webcam so she can skype with the grandchildren too.

    It’s A Wonderful Life: Easily my favorite movie! Not even my favorite Christmas movie, definitely my all time favorite. You really must watch it. We watch it every year as we wrap presents and again on Christmas Eve.

    And Christmas Eve we have to sprinkle Magic Reindeer Food. We did it last year with Baby Cooper, and probably will again. (I wish I had the little poem that went with it).

    We bought the Barenaked Ladies Holiday Album the other day. It SUCKS! So disappointed! Also bought a new copy of Kenny & Dolly’s Chrismas album! 🙂 Last year we got Dianna Krall. It is very nice, as is Johnny Reid’s.

    We may put our tree up this weekend. Al’s ship party is tonight so I have today and tomorrow off, and I have had nearly every Saturday off since I started working, so I am off 3 days in a row – WOO HOO!

    I also like to make Christmas gifts, whether they are baked, sewn or knitted. It just isn’t Christmas unless there are gifts made with love 🙂

    And I LOVE YOU Sondra! I really hope we can come home next year. Maybe if EVERYONE saved their loonies it would be able to happen. It is so expensive! Especially for 5 tickets!

    Miss you
    xo

    December 2, 2010 at 12:46 pm

  5. I love making cookies- sugar cookies to be exact!

    I also like watching old Christmas movies and watching the new ones they come up with that year for Christmas!

    December 2, 2010 at 8:24 pm

  6. A true Yahtzee gal!! MMMM BACON!!

    December 2, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Leave a Reply

