Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Blog Challenge #4 – MY FAVORITE MOVIE

Challenge #4:

MY FAVORITE MOVIE

*Sigh* This challenge is a little tougher than others.  I LOVE movies.  I grew up on movies….well, not so much but you know what I mean.  I grew up in the 80’s when movies ROCKED!  There were so many movies you could sit down with your family and just laugh and have fun and get lost for about 2 hours without having to think of or worry about bad language or nudity (okay, yes, there were movies with bad language and nudity but not as much as there is now…I mean, good grief!!).
 
But, because I love movies so much it’s hard to narrow just one down.  So I’ve narrowed down a few…some I could not imagine my life without.  And of course I have to give honorable mentions to The Indiana Jones series (original), Star Wars (original) – and YES!  I DO have a Harrison Ford fetish – and E.T.  I mean, c’mon.  E.T. should be on EVERYONE’s list of favorites.  Oh, and for my family members:  Rhinestone – starring Sylvester Stallone and Dolly Parton!!  Yay!  (And for re-living my youth – Dazed and Confused.  Have you seen it?  “It’d be a whole lot cooler if you did.”)

But for now, here’s my List of Favorites:
 
Annie
I don’t think my life would have been the same without Annie.  I LOVED her.  Back in the day when you had to rent VCRs and movies, Annie was always on my list of movies to rent. Annie introduced me to the life of musicals.  Thank you.
 
The Goonies
Those who know me know that my lifelong desire was/is to be a Goonie.  These kids had the best adventure.  AND they got the rich stuff in the end.  Goonies never say die.  (BTW – This movie introduced the world to the original Brandon Walsh.)
 
JAWS
This is one of the main reasons I don’t go in the water.  Hello!!  Good book.  Better movie.  Scary as shit.  So much fun.
 
Adventures in Babysitting
The movie that I know ALL the words to.  It’s a lot like The Goonies in that it’s just a fun adventure. Joe Gibb: “I like danger, alright.”  Chris: “You should try babysitting.”  This was one of my go-to movies when I was home sick.
 
Mad Love
First of all, I love Drew Barrymore.  Love her.  She’s my woman.  Second, I saw this movie for the first time when it came out in ’95.  I went to see it with Kim M. and we both cried.  it’s a beautifully sad movie.  I have watched it over and over.  I have several copies and the soundtrack.  Drew and Chris O’Donnell were so real and sad and in love.  Go see it.
 
Almost Famous
The characters’ love of music could SO be modelled after my life.  This is such a beautiful movie.  Set in the 70’s at the height of the best music time EVER, with a wonderful soundtrack and honest-to-goodness great actors.  If you’re ever having a bad day “just go to the record store and visit your friends.”  Or, just go watch this movie.  The Tiny Dancer scene alone will make it worth it.
 
There.  That’s a list of SOME of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

