Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Blog Challenge #6 – MY FAVORITE BOOK

#6 – MY FAVORITE BOOK

This was rather easy.  My all-time favorite book is To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee.  This was one of those books on a reading list for 9th grade English.  I fell in love with it.  It’s obviously a classic.  I’m hoping that junior and senior high curriculum is still what it used to be.

To Kill a Mockingbird

 

Another of my favorites is White Oleander by Janet Fitch.  This book was so eloquantly written that I couldn’t put it down.  The characters are beautifully described and there are several moments that should leave tears in your eyes.

From the very first sentences: “The Santa Anas blew in hot from the desert, shriveling the last of the spring grass into whiskers of pale straw.  Only the oleanders thrived, their delicate poisonous blooms, their dagger green leaves…” I was hooked.  It’s one of the few, very few books that I have finished and immediately flipped back to the front and started all over again.  My ex (yuck* would even get me to read aloud to him because of the beauty in the words.  White Oleander was made into a movie – which is excellent – but so much was left out from the book.

White Oleander (book)

White Oleander (movie)

 

I also have to give a nod to a few others that I found addictive:  The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold and The Rainmaker  and The Client – both by John Grisham.  I’m currently working thru Grisham’s collection.  So far, so good.   And, of course, The Twlight Saga.  I wasn’t keen on reading these books but at Amy’s nagging 🙂 I decided to give them a whirl and got completely enthralled in the stories.  Very addictive.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

