Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Blog Challenge #15 – MY FAVORITE SONGS THAT MATCH A CERTAIN MOOD

#15 – My Favorite Songs That Match a Certain Mood:

Several years ago I made a CD for a close friend who was moving away.  This is the letter I wrote to go with the CD.  It pretty much explains it all:

“August 2006

Well, this is the last gift I’ll be able to give you for a while. I hope you enjoy it. The CD has a few of my favorite songs on it and some good tunes just to have fun listening to (ie. Rockstar by Nickleback).

I named this CD “Almost Famous Moments – the soundtrack of Life” for a reason. In our lifetime we all have moments that define who we are, moments that mark so-called eras – events we won’t ever forget. These defining moments can be triggered by a song, a scent, even a breeze – whichever, during these times we remember exactly where we were, exactly what we were doing, and exactly how we felt. These moments make us who we are.

Back in late February I told you about last year’s American Idol winner, Carrie Underwood and how she hit and carried a note for 20 seconds and how every time I hear that note I tear up – well, I’ve included the song on your CD.

I have to warn you, some of the songs are sad, sappy, la-la songs, but they
all have meaning. I would have loved to have had the opportunity to sing
one of my favorite songs (Heaven by Bryan Adams) to you (someday, perhaps), but for now I’ve included another version of the song for you (DJ Sammy). It’s very pretty…you might not like it as much as I do, but give it time and think of me when you hear it.

I know how much you hate that song by Bon Jovi and Jennifer Nettles (Who
Says You Can’t Go Home) so I didn’t put it on the CD, however, Joking by the Indigo Girls has a similar sound (I think Bon Jovi ripped them off) and it’s
got a nice little riff to it so hopefully you’ll like it and it won’t make you wanna throw things like the other song does.

River, Tiny Dancer, Mona Lisas & Mad Hatters, Tangerine and Small Time Blues are all from the Almost Famous Movie Soundtrack – if you’ve watched the movie you’ll understand what I mean by the “moments” – These songs are all amazing and you will (hopefully) appreciate them.

It took me a while to choose some of the songs for your CD, and some of them I couldn’t imagine not putting on your CD. It would just seem wrong.

I hope you like the music selections I’ve made and I hope all goes well for
you. I’m gonna miss you so much. I have a little spot in my heart reserved
for you.”

I have so many favorite songs.  It’s hard to list them.  But that’s the whole purpose of music….music is an extension of our feelings; our emotions.  What’d be the point of listening if we had no reactions to songs and sound and melody?  There would be no point.  Music gives everything life.

Cheers y’all!

Leave a Reply

