Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Oprah – I’m Going to Miss You

There’re only 11 shows left before Miss Oprah says “Farewell” to her show of 25 years.    And I am sad.

There are plenty of people who dislake her (my own mother thinks she’s ‘uppity’), but I, for one, love her.  I think she has done some wonderful things in her 25 years on air.  She’s generous, she’s insightful, and she’s entertaining.  And for the most part, she’s reliable.  I know that every day at 3 and 5pm, Oprah will be on my television and that if I set my VCR (yes, VCR…I’m old school) she will be waiting for me after my workout.

I had made the decision to watch all of the “Farewell Season”‘s episodes, unfortunately, things don’t always work out the way we intend.  But I’ve been watching most of them and I WILL watch the remaining 11 shows.  And more than likely I will bawl during the last show….and then some.

I’ve written several letters to Oprah over the years…comments on guests or personal thoughts and shares and I know that Oprah’s words, in some way, have helped me in something in my span of watching this show. 

I know that her words and her light will continue to shine and live on in people all around the world and give people hope. 

No, she’s not a saint or a preacher or a wizard.  But here’s what I compare her to:  back in the 90’s medium James Van Prague had a show…where he would communicate with deceased family/friends of his living guests…many people scoffed at his communications…but my aunt said to me one day “If he’s giving people hope and closure, and making them feel better, then why not?”  He wasn’t taking advantage of these people…he was simply releasing them from whatever it was that they needed to be released from.  If loving and admiring Oprah can bring hope to people in the world who are down on their luck or who need an inspiration, then why not just let them be?  She’s not taking advantage of anyone.  She’s not hurting anyone. 

I sometimes find hope in the things that Oprah does.  I certainly have admiration for many of the things she’s done.  I will continue to be an Oprah fan even when her show has left the air.  And if I need an Oprah boost I will watch her network, OWN or have a good cry over “The Color Purple.”

Cheers.

2 responses

  1. tanyaslife

    The Oprah show saved me during the Andy split.

    I have her 25 anniversary DVD set and was watching it. At one point, she was talking about the court she went through with/about the Texas cattlemen (or whoever). She said that people were calling her nasty things and she said “Even a lawyer, spitting in my face calling me a liar” … “Those words that you use, do not describe me”.

    She went on to say that that ‘trial’ is like any ‘trial’ in life. Whether that be depression, abuse, divorce, addiction, etc. Those ‘trials’ do not define who you are.

    I held onto those words; that I am not the divorce.

    May 10, 2011 at 1:36 pm

  2. I remember you loaning that to me. There were several incidents that made me cry. The one that stands out the most is the woman who said she bought Oprah’s shoes (3 sizes too big) because they gave her hope just to stand in them.

    May 10, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Leave a Reply

