Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Party of One

 

HAPPY FRIDAY Y’ALL!  Whooot!

So, right now the weather is looking so-far, so-good.  Although we had quite the thunder and lighting storm last night that sent Winston nearly thru the roof.  Poor Crazy Kitty.

Here’s hoping that this weekend will be gorgeous and I can get some sun and work on darkening my skin a wee bit.  I know, I know….SPF, right?

The Man is working an OT shift tomorrow so I’m spending the day with the Abster.  I have lots of plans for us – provided the weather is nice AND she cleans her room.  It’s disastrous.  Yikes.  However, if things go my way I’m hoping to spend some time outside.  I’d like to do a little yard-saling or Frenchy shopping (Abby LOVES Frenchy’s), maybe go to the park or maybe to the shore to collect sea shells.   I’ve also got my old ball glove in the trunk of my car so maybe even a little game of catch.  She’s only 6 so I’ll have to go easy with her.   Let’s just hope the weather is nice.

Next Friday I have the day off and I’ve been planning an adventure.  Blair’s working that day so I had hoped to get some time off by myself and I was planning on a huge adventure on my own…semi-Goonie style.   Amy K. notified me this morning that she has taken that day off as well so here’s to a great adventure with a friend I’ve had for more than 25 years. 

Usually I want to spend every spare minute I can with Blair when I’m off but this day I really just wanted for myself.  I want to go to the harbour and explore the coastline, I want to swim in the freezing water, I want to get lost in the afternoon sun, I want to have a drink on an outside deck. 

I used to live for summer vacations when I was younger but this whole grown-up-working-for-a-living thing gets me bummed out a bit.  And I think it’s important to have time to myself.  As much as I love, love, LOVE Blair, I don’t want to lose who I am, and that’s a mistake I made in a past relationship.  I let go of my independence.  That’s not happening this time around.  (Although I am the first to admit I’m fairly needy and I miss him when I’m not with him and I want to be with him when I can’t.  Perhaps if we lived in the same town it’d be even just a tad bit easier and I could let go of that particular insecurity.)

I’m planning to stay semi-local that day but if anyone has any suggestions for me for things to do on a summer Friday morning/afternoon I’m open to hearing them.

Cheers!

~Sandy

5 responses

  1. tanyaslife

    This made me giggle.

    July 22, 2011 at 1:03 pm

  2. tanyaslife

    I mean, the picture.
    I didn’t see there was text. hahahaha. Good thing its Friday. 🙂

    July 22, 2011 at 1:04 pm

  3. tanyaslife

    I’m apparently going to spam your inbox with comments, but I have to say this: “She’s only 6 so I’ll have to go easy with her” makes me picture you heaving the ball at her face…
    Bwahaha.

    July 22, 2011 at 1:12 pm

  4. sandypothier

    You are bad, Tanya! Normally, I would heave the ball…but where she is only six I will be nice and play like an adult. A nice adult.

    July 22, 2011 at 1:13 pm

  5. ~cat

    “…play like an adult. A nice adult.”
    I’m glad you clarified that last part. LOL

    July 24, 2011 at 2:38 am

Leave a Reply

