Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Junk Lovin’

Sooooooo….as of late I love “scrap shopping!”  I was never a person big on the yard/garage sale scene…my grandmother lived for weekends when she and my grandfather could hit the back roads of rural Nova Scotia (and beyond!) and stop at every yard sale.  They found some great finds.  

Unfortunately, my OCD and snobbery prevented me from EVER doing this.  Up until recent years I couldn’t even go vintage shopping in clothing stores (aka Frenchy’s to most of us).  But after getting a slight grip on my phobia of other peoples’ dirt, I’m finally able to second-hand shop with the best of them. 

And I LOVE watching Storage Wars…it’s sort of a new obsession.  Blair and I came across the show one night while channel surfing and have been hooked ever since.  It’s fun to watch (even if it is scripted – we’ll never know) to see what kind of things the main cast find in the abandoned lockers.  And some of the things that people will LEAVE in lockers is incredible.  Which is why many people may wonder if the show is staged (don’t forget editing, people).  [If you think about it – a lot of belongings go into storage as a result of a person’s death.  Once there is the matter of dealing with the deceased person’s Estate items will go into storage.  Probate and Estate issues can drag on and on and on {my personal knowledge comes from having worked with a law firm that dealt a lot with Estate and Probate}.  Anyway, oftentimes, as the Estate battle is dragged on and on the storage locker fees will be overlooked.  And the managers don’t give a hoot if the items are faulted on b/c of legal battles….and in turn the lockers are auctioned off.  {I would be superpissed if I missed out on a $CHA CHING$ payout b/c some fool forgot to pay the $99.95 monthly fee!}]

The show makes you want to go thru all your crap and see what kind of treasures you have.  I have an old oil painting that I picked up a yard sale years ago that I LOVE but I have no idea who the artist is or if it’s worth anything.  I have some antique jewelry and I have 3 old books all printed at the turn of the century or just after – the Complete Works of Shakespeare, Brahm Stoker’s Dracula and The Grapes of Wrath.  I did some researching online and they could all be worth a small bundle.

Makes ya wonder……….

And like they say: “One person’s trash is another person’s treasure.” – I’m just certain to bring lots of hand sanitizer with me on my hunts.

Cheers!!  (PS – it’s Adventure Day tomorrow!  Yay!!)

~Sandy

PS if the photo won’t load just click on the thumbnail.

4 responses

  1. ~cat

    Wanna come sort through *my* junk? I’ll let you keep some of it. 😉 haha!

    August 2, 2011 at 9:17 am

  2. sandypothier

    Depends on if you have anything good. 🙂

    August 2, 2011 at 9:25 am

  3. ~cat

    Of course I do. Nothing but treasures here. 😉

    August 2, 2011 at 10:28 am

  4. sandypothier

    I’ll take two little blond boys, please. 😀

    August 2, 2011 at 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

