Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

The Reasons I Blog

THE REASONS I BLOG

Someone asked me not too long ago why I blog.  She said she just didn’t get the idea behind blogging. 

What started off as a hobby several years ago has grown into something a whole lot bigger.  Back about 6 years ago (maybe more?) I started “blogging” to my friends.  I was sending out what I was calling my “Weekend Updates” – little emails that covered my adventures (as there were many) from the past weekends.  Several friends, had I not sent something by Tuesday or Wednesday, would send me haha-hate mail requesting that I get my butt in gear and send around in mass my “Weekend Update.”

Eventually, I stumbled across the Windows Live Space and decided that I would create something there and just email the link.  After several years with the WLS it grew (not by choice) to a WordPress Blog site and from that became available to people in other forums, not just my little clique.

Another reason I blog is because I love to write.  I’ve been a writer since I was able to hold a pencil properly.  I love telling stories.  I love creating ideas.  I love having a say.  I’ve been published numerous times and on many scales – small and large.  I’ve created childrens books, poems, plays, short stories, essays, and have been working on my “novel” for so long that I almost can’t be bothered anymore.  

I like that the blog is not one-sided and not one-dimensional.  I can write on any topic I want:  Personal, Political, Humor, Fashion, Food, etc.  It’s up to me.

I love the feedback that the blog offers.  It allows me to have conversations (and sometimes arguments) with people about things that we maybe wouldn’t normally talk about.

Sometimes it’s hard to come up with ideas to write about and sometimes I just don’t have the energy or care to write anything.  But I know that my blog will always be there when I’m ready. 

I’m careful not to put out too much personal information.  I like having some anonymity.  Of course, my friends all know who I am and who I’m referring to, but when it comes down to it they’re likely gonna hear what I have to say anyway.

But beyond that, there are probably a few more reasons I blog.  I like to (sometimes) go back and have a laugh at the things I’ve written or the moments I experienced (I really recommend everyone read “Let Your Backbone Slide”) and there are plenty of moments I’ve forgotten about but have been lucky enough to relive due to a previous post.  There are many times I’ve gotten nostaligic and have gone back and read some of my old journals – this is really no different, except that it’s public.

So, there you have it – the reasons I blog.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

