Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Remembering September 11 – 10 Years Later

The Twin Towers

Remembering 9/11 – 10 Years Later

If you asked me what I was doing this time last week, I probably wouldn’t be able to tell you.  But if you asked me what I was doing this time ten years ago I can remember it almost as if it were yesterday.

I was living in Halifax, NS and working two jobs.  In the mornings till mid-afternoon I worked for an American company with our clients based solely in the States, primarily in Texas.

When I arrived at my office that Tuesday morning I was nonchalant as always.  My co-workers and I had no idea what was happening in New York City.  My biggest issue earlier that morning was deciding what I was going to wear to work.  However, upon arrival and awaiting the work hours to begin we were informed to just “hang tight” as there was “a little  trouble in New York this morning.”  My co-workers and I were completely unaware of exactly the magnitude of that little trouble and the effect it would have on the world, and on us for the rest of our lives.

Eventually we were told what had happened and what was still happening.  Our office and building were placed on lockdown and we weren’t permitted to use the phones.  We had been informed, also, that there were possibly threats made to political buildings/landmarks in our City.  It was very frightening.

One of my BFFs happened to be in class two floors above me so I made my way up the stairs to her to see what was happening and how she and her classmates were reacting to the news of the attacks in NYC.  They were oblivious.  They had no idea what was going on.  They knew that class hadn’t resumed for whatever reasons but they had not been informed.

As the day went on and the hours passed and our anxiety and anticipation and fear grew in all of us, someone in my office suggested that we sit in a circle and talk.  Maybe say what we’re thankful for.  One of my team-members had a sister in NYC that morning and was unreachable for several hours.  By this time she had made contact with her family and we knew she was safe.  We were thankful for that.  I was thankful that I am Canadian and living in a nation that believes in Peace Keeping.  But I was and still am scared.

After many hours locked in that office we were finally permitted to leave the building but we were told (yes, told!) to go right home.  Once outside and on the streets, the City was in scrambles.   Maybe the City-goers were unaware, maybe they were in a panic, but in those moments I say they were in a scramble.

I made my drive home and was happy to get to my apartment.  I called my mom.  I waited for my roommate to get back.  I called my BFFer Kim.  I watched the TV.   It was chaos all over the world.  My heart sank.  I cried.

Not knowing how things were going to pan out for the rest of the day I began to get ready for my second job.  But it wasn’t too long before I got a phone call saying that that office was closed and to stay put.  Normally I would have had a ton of things to do but that evening my roomie and I stayed in and watched the news and kind of just stayed in awe of everything.

I can’t imagine such loss, such tragedy, such an act of hatred on so many innocent people.  But we witnessed it.  We saw what pure evil can accomplish.   It’s been 10 years since the attacks on the Twin Towers in New York City but still, each time I hear a plane flying too low I panic.  Each time I see visuals of the loss I feel sadness.  Every time I watch video of the planes flying into the buildings, completely unexpected, completely unprovoked, I still find it hard to believe what I’m watching; hard to believe that that happened; hard to believe that all of those people died.  And every time I cry.

NEVER FORGET

Twin Towers 9/11

Leave a Reply

