Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

How Cool is David Bowie Right Now?

This is a statement I may never thought I’d be making, but I’m saying it now: HOW COOL IS DAVID BOWIE??

David Bowie

I have always known about David Bowie, and I have always enjoyed the Bowie songs that I’d heard and been exposed to (and I STILL LOVE his Christmas duet with Bing Crosby of Little Drummer Boy/Peace On Earth).  But it seems that a whole new generation is being exposed to David Bowie – by way of the television commercial.

Recently, Joe Fresh clothing line (http://www.joe.ca/) has been running ads for their fall line.  The catchy beat playing along with the visual is none other than “Oh You Pretty Things” written by Bowie in ’71.   Here is just one of many ads rocking the same “soundtrack”:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zM6W4jqpa7I&feature=related.

And for the REAL Bowie tune:

The next Bowie song is Rebel Rebel, which is being used to promote the new season of “House, MD.”  Ah, House.  How we love him.  And the song title song here seems to fit him.

Although I can’t find the tv ad spot for “House”, here is the old-school video for Rebel Rebel:

I’m just wondering where else David Bowie’s work is going to be popping up?  I’m sure this is little bit of recognition is going to send him soaring with teenagers (as I’ve already seen tons of searches and inquiries online looking for “Oh You Pretty Things”).  We’ll see.  We’ll see.

Cheers!

2 responses

  1. amy k

    Omg, lol!! I must say David Bowie got some bad looking teeth. I’m sorry its the first thing i notice in the videos. Scarey. But yes Sandy i know what ya mean, about the commericals. About hearing good music from the past. Well the other day on Bravo i was watching the The Breakfast Club, which i have too sadly say i never seen before. It was alright. but it had some good music in it. Like for the opening of the movie, Simple Minds played. ” Dont you forget about me,…….. don’t, don’t don’t. ” Love that song! Well don’t forget about family guy, they did a episode where they took a old video from the 80’s and took the character Chris and put him in the video instead, it was funny. The video is Take On me, from the group A-ha.

    September 26, 2011 at 9:03 am

    • I CAN’T believe you’d never seen The Breakfast Club before. It’s a classic and I loved Molly Ringwald in the 80’s.
      It seems to me that so much of today’s music is crap so they ad execs (who are likely our age) and reverting back to their youths.
      And Take on Me is one of my favorites.

      BTW Amy, I also noticed how bad his teeth are. Kinda sad.

      September 26, 2011 at 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

