Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Oh Doctor………

I thought about posting about this the other day and now that I’ve had a request for it I guess my mind’s been made up.

Monday, November 7, 2011:  Dr. Conrad Murray was convicted of Involuntary Manslaughter in the death of Pop Icon Michael Jackson in 2009.

Just as I watched the verdicts in the OJ Simpson trial, the Michael Jackson (alleged) child abuse case, and just this past summer the Casey Anthony case (should have been guilty!!  RIP Caylee), Blair and I watched the verdict come in for Dr. Murray. 

Although I am happy that he was found guilt, I do have mixed feelings about the whole thing.  I dunno.  I grew up listening to Michael Jackson and his death was a huge shock.  Many people couldn’t care less but for me, being a child of the 80’s, it was a big deal. 

Here’s my wayward take on it:  I think Dr. Murray was wrong.  He swore an oath when he became a doctor, to do no harm in his practice….in fact, the Classic version of the Hippocratic Oath states; “I will neither give a deadly drug to anybody if asked for it, nor will I make a suggestion to this effect. In purity and holiness I will guard my life and my art.”  Dr. Murrary went against the Oath when he decided to help Jackson ease his suffering.

I think Dr. Murrary may have felt stuck between a rock and a hard place.  Here was this icon of a man – his employer – begging for help.  Asking his personal physician to help soothe the constant pain he was in. 

But Michael wasn’t asking for Advil.  The drug he requested, Propofol, an anesthetic, was not something that should have ever been administered to him.  There was no reasoning for it.  And Dr. Murrary should have said no.

But he didn’t say no and now a man is dead.  A family is without their son, brother, father, uncle.  And a world is without his music.

As I watched the verdict for Murray come thru I said to Blair; “he’s so emotionless.”  But the longer I watched and the more coverage I see I can see the pain in his face and the burden he will now carry for the rest of his life.

May God be with him and bring him peace and comfort.  May the Jackson family and the music community give him forgiveness.  May we be compassionate to him as he now struggles with the rest of his life.

RIP Michael Jackson.  We miss you.

My Favorite Michael Photo

Cheers!

PS Thanks Elizabeth for the push for this post.

5 responses

  1. I was flipping through the channels, looking for something for the toddlers from upstairs to watch, when I saw on CNN that a verdict had been reached. I immediately sent an email to text message to you, so that you could watch the verdict be given. I was not emotionally attached to the story that unfolded since they day MJ passed away, but I can still feel compassion for those who are. I do, as well, have mixed feelings about the whole ordeal.

    Two years ago we saw a man, a doctor, who had to make a decision that went against what he believed in and what he had promised to not do, administer a drug that could kill his patient. MJ was not just a patient, he, as you stated, is a musical icon from when we grew up, and as we watched those even 10 years younger than us, we find it hard to wrap our minds around how Dr. Murray could do such a thing.

    Out of all of this sadness in losing MJ and Dr. Murray being found guilty of involuntary manslaughter, there is a small brightly shining star, there are many more generations who now know who MJ was, is and will be, a musical icon, father, brother, uncle, friend.

    I

    November 9, 2011 at 1:32 pm

  2. amy k

    Well i think Conrad Murray knew it was coming. He was gulity! I agree with Blair he showed no emotion on his face. But didnt he only get 4 years? That’s just a slap on the face, Whoopie -do.
    You say, “May god be with him”, I bet you anything MJ will be there too, lol 🙂 The man got what he deserve. I’m just glad this is all over with anfd MJ’s family can put this to rest!

    November 9, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  3. Blair didn’t say it, silly, I did. 🙂 And his sentencing is at the end of the month but they’re speculating up to 4 years. Jeeze, if his name were Lindsay Lohan he’d be able to have his sentence pushed back to finish his playboy shoot THEN only serve about a half hour. Awesome!!

    November 9, 2011 at 6:26 pm

  4. Jaime M

    to be fair….Lindsey hasnt killed anyone 🙂 I am with Amy on this one….shocker eh, me disagreeing with you 🙂

    November 10, 2011 at 10:00 am

  5. I agree with what Amy said too…I said I’m glad that he was found guilty. He did the wrong thing and he went against the Hippocratic Oath. I just think he was caught up with MJ and his pain and what was right and wrong. Regardless, a man is dead and it’s at his (Murray’s) hand. He deserves to be punished. I don’t think 4 years is enough. (I’m wondering if they’ll now look at a malpractice suit, as well.)

    And no, Lindsay Lohan hasn’t killed anyone…yet. She almost ran someone over with her car a few years ago. She’ll never learn her lesson if she’s continued to be given special treatment. She’s a LOSER. 🙂

    November 10, 2011 at 10:07 am

Leave a Reply

