Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Past Saturday Nights

Hey Hey!  Tomorrow is Christmas Eve!  I am super duper excited.  🙂

But, since it snowed like crazy today and I finished my running around this morning and I really don’t feel like getting my feet wet again today I’m home.  I made some yummy truffles and worked on getting a spilled coffee stain out of my carpet (suggestions, anyone??) and have been gabbing and watching Christmas specials….and now I figure it’s time to add a new post.  Thanks to my cousin Tanya for helping me select the topic for this eve.

PAST SATURDAY NIGHTS

YeHaw! Let's get our dance on!

Once upon a time I was super cool on Saturday nights.  I was the SHIT!!  Seriously.  I always had so much fun.  I wasn’t a big time partier but I was a big time “let’s have fun” type of gal.

Originally, I was lame and used to organize outings with people I worked with – movie nights and that sort of thing.  In our defence, we all worked the shitty morning shifts at our shitty jobs at Tim Horton’s and we were so tired and rarely outside of our little group.  But we always had fun.  Like I said, we’d do movie nights or game nights or just sit around and gab and eat food nights.  And sometimes we’d just drive around and have fun.  Good times in the Valley.  Regardless, we ALWAYS have laughs and fun.

 THEN, years ago, after a break up with an ex, I went thru a huge depression but one day decided I wasn’t gonna sit around and be sad and think about him (the ex) all the time….and I discovered dancing.  And here is where my story really begins.

Saturday nights (which actually, for me, began on Thursdays) were for dancing.  After my crappy shifts I’d go home and begin preparations for getting my groove on.  Thursday evenings thru Saturday evenings were reserved for me and my friends shakin’ our asses at our favorite bar.

Shooters, anyone?

But Saturday nights were always the best.  I never had to wait in a line up….and back in the day, if you weren’t to the bar by 8pm you were stuck in a line up.  Luckily enough, I had friends and always got in the back door (thanks guys!!).  I loved my Saturday nights.  I rarely RARELY drank which actually made my evenings even better.  I remembered everything that happened.  I didn’t feel like crap the next day.  And I always made it to work on time.

I was very rambunctious and friendly and just enjoyed being out.  The DJ reserved songs and would give us a shout out (“Sandy, this one’s for you, Baby…” cue Sweet Home Alabama or I Love A Rainy Night or You Shook Me All Night Long) and we’d dance and have a great time.  We’d bust out the Robot or break into the Running Man and we didn’t care.  It was so much fun.  And  for those special nights when I made my way to the City, Kim and I really just didn’t give a shit.  We’d dance and make fun of people and be complete fools and we loved every minute of it.

Kim & Me - NYE circa 2000

Getting a little older, I discovered new places to go….I enjoyed nights at the Pubs or hitting the Wick (http://www.unionstreetcafe.ca/) for wine and Open Mic night.  Some nights we’d go to karaoke (blog post coming soon: Karaoke Me) or to see a live band.   No matter what we did, it was always a good time.

Karaoke in College

I was great at making plans with and for my friends.  We had Girls’ night tons of times and even just sitting around the table at the pub and having a glass of wine turned into THE BEST NIGHT!  Every night seemed to be the best night.  And anyone’s birthday was a reason to party….to get dressed up and go out and have a great time.  *sigh* Where have those times gone?  I love my friends so much.  I kept good company.  I still do.  But I’m getting older and friends are marrying up and having babies and, to be honest, there’s not a lot of options for us to go out to anymore.  Boo.

One of Many Girls' Nights

The Start of a Great Night! (Vanessa, Amy, Heather and Me circa 2004)

BAAACK in the day I made my co-worker, Shane, my dancing bitch.  I dragged him out dancing with me one night and after that he was told he had to come out with me every night.  We had good times…dancing and being jerks.  Several years ago we ended up going out dancing again with some friends.  I wore a white tank top (*ahem* “wife beater“), a pair of jeans and a ball cap.  I really didn’t give a hoot about anything that night and wasn’t getting dressed up for anyone.  Let me just tell all you ladies out there….THE BEST NIGHT EVER!!  I’ve never been hit on so many times in my life.  The next time we all went out dancing again another woman in our group wore the EXACT same outfit trying to get the same reaction.  Lame.  Lisa, do you remember these nights?  Can you vouch for them??

Me and Shane and my "wife beater"...not sure where my top lip went.

All in all, Saturday Nights Rocked!  Back in the day.  Nowadays I usually spend my Saturday nights with Blair at home.  Kinda boring sometimes but the important thing is that we are together.  Once a month, I have a Saturday night to myself  when Blair is working his backshift and I TRY to make those nights count…unfortunately, I don’t do too much…usually a glass of wine with a friend.  Maybe this year I will start making Saturday nights more fun.  Perhaps I’ll start organizing Girls’ Night again and we can all head out to the pub or to the Wick or find some place to go shake our booties.  So ladies of my life, please be advised and prepared to start having fun.

Merry Christmas and all the best to you all and your families.

Cheers!

~Sandy

CHEESE!! A Birthday Week outing with Lisa-Lou.

3 responses

  1. Lisa

    Oh yes I can and will certainly vouch for that! But u didn’t mention about our special downtown Kentville stop before starting our night or wait was this place #2 we went to that night.
    I sure miss those nights!

    December 23, 2011 at 11:01 pm

  2. sandypothier

    That post is coming later…that’s a “SHENANIGANS” post. 😀

    December 23, 2011 at 11:06 pm

  3. LOVE THE POST!!
    All the best in the New Year and we miss you tons!!

    January 3, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Leave a Reply

