Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Something Happened on the Way…..

Here’s a funny little story to start your weekend off….it shows (sorta) the extent of my clumsiness.  🙂  Hope you get a chuckle.

SOMETHING HAPPENED on the WAY….

Back in November (before the snow hit) I was out for a run.  Although it was early evening it was still quite dark so I had a keyring flashlight with me and was wearing a white tshirt, as I wanted to make sure I would not be a surprise to oncoming vehicles.

I had just started my run and could hear in the not-so-distant air the wail of police sirens.  Now, for those just reading or getting to know me I MUST make you aware that I am awaiting eye surgery for a “malfunction” in my left eye.  Because of this malfunction my vision in lefty is distorted and blurry and I have no depth perception.  So, as I continued my jog down the street the sirens got louder and eventually the police car was in sight – making its way around the bend and up the street toward me.

I turned on my mini flashlight and waved it around on the ground so that I could be seen and, as always with any approaching vehicle, I got off the pavement and onto the side of the road.  The police car did not slow down, although I’m sure he/she saw me, so I continued to move further and further away from the pavement, not aware just how close I was to the edge I was…until, just as the police car was about to pass me, I slipped…RIGHT INTO THE DITCH!  Down I went.  Totally humiliated (‘tho, no one was around and it was dark…still.). 

The worst/best part of my story is that the damn police officer didn’t even slow down or stop to see if I was okay (I’m sure there was an emergency somewhere).  So, here I am in the dark, scrambling to crawl my way out of the damn ditch before anyone else could see me.  The whole time cursing that cop and his stupid car. 

Chuckle? 

Happy Friday!

 

3 responses

  1. amy k

    Omg…. That was sooo funny! I can’t believe that happen to you, its just your luck, bahahahaha. Yer so funny. 🙂

    January 13, 2012 at 6:59 pm

  2. Oh, yes, we DO have a lot in common! The first (er, only) time I went skiing, my mother had to call ‘help’ because I SKIED INTO A DITCH! LOL!

    I’m glad you’re okay!

    January 14, 2012 at 7:44 pm

  3. Pingback: Day #10 – Describe Your Most Embarrassing Moment | Sandy the Social Butterfly

Leave a Reply

