Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Dance Off

CLICK the following Link (you may want to translate to English) and wait for the Asian ad to finish:

http://www.tudou.com/programs/view/J2MSWYOvM9M/

 

Alrighty…years ago Matt Damon hosted a new season of SNL and opened the show with “the biggest headline of the summer – The Dance Off between rival exes, Britney Spears and Justin Timberlake.  It was so funny and lame and I loved it.   It became one of my favorite sketches.  (Again, click the link above for the clip.)

And I admit, I LOVE a good dance off!!  A year and a half ago, for my cousin Tanya’s (shout out!) 25th birthday, a crowd of us made our way to some karaoke bar in the City.  Tanya and he (ex) boyfriend, Chris were/are really into karaoke, so that’s what the plan was.   It wasn’t a busy spot but we had a blast.  A bartender got the party really rolling when he karaoked {yes, I just made that word up!} New Orleans is Sinking by The Hip – I don’t think we left the dance floor after that and once the karaoke party was over, out rolled the video screen and the dance floor was packed.  We had so much fun!

But Chris and I were being a little competitive and we decided to have our own little dance off.  LAME!  But hilarious!!  We broke out the running man, the shopping cart, the lawn mower, the sprinkler.  You name it, we danced it.  And I want to toot my horn here and say I totally brought the prize home when Chris CHOKED on his last move.  🙂  I made myself proud.

Well, this past September, for Tanya’s 26th birthday, I headed into the City once again to celebrate.  But we went to a different karaoke place and she has a different boyfriend.  But to keep with tradition I challenged him and he accepted.  The party this time was not as much fun….as we were the ONLY TWO on the dance floor and we made complete asses of ourselves and I think we both sort of choked.  But it was still fun.  And it’s good to know that Dean (the new guy) has a kooky sense of humor too.

I am looking forward to the next time I can show my MooOooves Like Jagger on the floor. 🙂

Keep on Rockin'

Cheers.
 

2 responses

  1. That is AWESOME (as is that SNL sketch)! I’ve karaoked (totally a word, heh) twice in my life, but a long time ago. I think it’s time to kick things up a notch in Jersey…

    February 2, 2012 at 9:51 am

  2. Pingback: Day #8 – What Are 3 Passions You Have? | Sandy the Social Butterfly

Leave a Reply

