Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

“Please” and “Thank You” Go A LONG Way!!

There….did that kill you?

I am normally sweet and polite and sincere and friendly (did I mention sweet?).  But cross me badly and you’re likely to endure my WRATH.

The Wrath of SandyLand doesn’t come out too often but when I’m really, really angry, I get crazy it’s not a pretty picture.  I’ve been known, on occasion, to jump out of my car and rip into people for tailing me, flipping me off, or just being punks.  I know, I know.  Not the best judgement but I inherited my anger gene and I can’t help it choose not to let it go completely.

Truthfully, however, I have to be seriously ticked off.  My wrath has only been seen on a few occasions in my lifetime and I prefer to keep my Mr. Hyde-alter-ego well hidden from the world.

My regular anger, however, is a different story.  I get pissed off all the time.  I’m entirely too sensitive and I get hurt feelings and sometimes it’s just easier to be angry than it is to be sad.  Lame, I know.  But it’s sometimes how I have to deal.

However, when it comes to manners, I get thoroughly PISSED OFF at certain people’s lack of them.  See, I was raised to be polite.  To ask for things properly.  To say “please” and “thank you” and “may I”, etc.  It STILL baffles me how so many people do not practice this.  I am constantly nagging reminding my nephews and Abby to “use your manners, please” and it always works.  Even my 4 year old nephew is in the habit of saying “may I pwease?” and “no fank you.”  (It’s absolutely adorable!)

So, imagine my disgust, not too long ago, in a particular office (not gonna say which one for all you locals who are reading this) when an employer said to me: “Give me ‘blah blah blah.*'”   (*note:  the “blahs” will prevent me from acknowledging what this person was asking for and therefore prevent me from acknowledging which employer it was)

I looked at the person and stared for a really long time (in actuality it was probably only a few seconds but it seemed like a really long time) and finally said: “Get you a ‘blah blah blah’ what?”   A few more seconds went by and finally the person squeaked replied “please?”   THERE YA GO!!

What the hell?  I don’t understand what is happening with our society.  It’s bad enough when we try to blame all that is wrong with the world on the youth of today (who, by the way, are mostly products of their respective upbringing), but this person who I’m making an example of is old.  I mean, like older than my dad.  He/she should know that manners are important.  Time to get off that high horse, I’d say.

With me, you’re likely to get a lot further ahead if you are polite and use your manners.  Giving me orders isn’t going to do any good because more than likely I’m just gonna stare at you like you’re stupid until you realize you’re being a dick.  And if you don’t realize it then I fully intend on MAKING you realize it by pointing it out.  How d’ya like them apples?

So…people of the blogging world, use your manners.  Be friendly and polite and see where the day will take you.  My guess is a place much more pleasant.

Cheers.

 

4 responses

  1. Elizabeth

    I find it funny that when I do something polite, i.e. hold the door for someone behind me, excuse myself when I need to walk in front of someone, that the person I am being polite for, has a shocked sense of awe in their voice when they thank me. There are of course those who do not thank me, and I nicely say “You are welcome”. It is my moment of f*** you when I do.

    June 6, 2012 at 8:58 pm

  2. “So…people of the blogging world, use your manners” Use your manners, What? *Stare*

    🙂 Love ya! 😛

    June 6, 2012 at 10:51 pm

  3. I couldn’t agree more, and also that the manners should carry over into the blogging/social media world (where it’s so easy to hide behind anonymity, or drunk tweet/text/post)! I wish I could get mad instead of sad as a first reaction, but I always feel like I’m going to cry when someone upsets me (thereby giving them the upper hand, ARG!)!

    June 7, 2012 at 7:02 pm

  4. Elizabeth: I know! It’s funny in the summer when we have tourists. They are usually astounded by our politeness. I think that’s a Valley or NS thing. And regarding the “You’re welcome” to those who don’t acknowledge us…I sometime do t he same thing.

    Tanya: WHOOOOOPS! 🙂 “So…people of the blogging world, PUL-LEEEEASE use your manners.”

    Jules: Manners on the internet are appalling. People get lazy with manners (and speech and grammar and…..*sigh*) when it comes to the internet and texting. It irks me. Too much. I’m fully prepared to get punched. (BTW – I am a complete crybaby….but sometimes it is better for me to get angry.) 🙂

    June 7, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Leave a Reply

