Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

“I don’t feel that I need to explain my art to you, Warren.”

Warren: Who glued these quarters down?
A.J.: I did.
Warren: What the hell for, man?
A.J.: I don’t feel that I need to explain my art to you, Warren.

EMPIRE RECORDS is a COOL MOVIE!!

Happy Rex Manning Day!!

The above quote is from the cult classic, Empire Records.   Warren is trying to pick up quarters that A.J. has glued to the carpet.  A.J. is an artist.  Warren is a thug-wannabe.

My name isn’t F..king Warren!

You can watch the clip here at 1:17 mins in: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hezqVcZitkY

When I was in high school and working part-time at a Tim Horton’s there was a customer who would come thru the Drive-thru every afternoon.  He was an older man, somewhere in his 50’s.  A beady little guy who resembled Mr. Burns from the Simpsons.

The customer would place his order and as he approached the Drive-thru window would stop just before, get out of his car and walk to the window where he would proceed to pick up all the loose change that we or other customers would have dropped.  (It was customary to wait for a slow down and a staff person would go out and collect the change to put back into the cash till.)   Now, if you’re thinking this guy was being nice and trying to help us out, you’re wrong.  He would pocket the change and get back in his car.

The first time this happened to me I actually thought he was picking the change up to be helpful so I held my hand out and said “oh hey, thanks!” or something to that effect.  He looked at me for a split second and then ignored me as if I hadn’t said anything at all.

This had gone on for ages – and even tho the guy was or was not technically stealing (I saw he was), no one ever did anything. ………… Until I got bored.

One dull afternoon I made my way outside in between Drive-thru customers and began (merrily) gluing down coins…and much to my co-workers’ and regular customers’ delight.  Eventually I had enough coins glued down and we all waited anxiously for El Cheapo to visit our Drive-thru.

When we finally saw him driving in we were giddy with excitement (I told you it was a dull afternoon!) and as he began his habitual method of trying to retrieve the “dropped” coins he realized the joke was on him!  We were all watching him and smirking.  OBVIOUSLY he was embarrassed for finally being outwitted (Yeah, I went there) because when he left our Drive-thru I don’t recall him ever coming back.  It was lovely.

Cheers!

 

2 responses

  1. Ha! Okay, I LOVE Empire Records, so you are my new hero with this story.

    That is AWESOME! I don’t say this often, but, HE HAD IT COMING!

    I could go for some Tim Hortons right now…

    June 12, 2012 at 2:38 pm

  2. I LOVE this post. Love it! And I love that you glued the coins to the ground!

    June 14, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Leave a Reply

