Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Ayy-yiy-y-eye!!

So, back in February I posted here https://welcometosandyland.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/oh-m-eye/ about my eye issue and possible upcoming surgery.  Well, this past Monday I went to see another eye surgeon (the best in the Maritimes, I’m told) and surgery is now a go.  A date has not been confirmed yet but paperwork has been sent to the hospital where the operation will take place.

This is my Facebook post heading to the City prior to my appointment: “Sandy is going to ‘see’ the eye surgeon to get her eye ‘looked’ at. Hehe.”

This is my Facebook post on my way back: “Surgery booked. Tears shed. Anxiety attack in progress. Lorazepam taken. Mmmmm Starbucks.”

Yep, once I found out some details, the risks, etc. I had a meltdown.  My poor mom had never been witness to one of my anxiety attacks but she saw one happen the other day…it freaked her out.  So much so that she got teared up.  Sorry Mom.

The worst part of the surgery (y’know, other than having my eye cut open and whatnot) is that I will not be able to work out for up to 6 weeks after.  WTF??  I’m having a hard time with that concept since I’m used to working out, at minimum, 6 days a week for the last 6 years.  This is NOT good.

I’m having a hard time with this idea people.  Here’s the thing:  I work out sick.  I work out injured.  I work out whether I feel like it or not.  I’ve worked from 7:30am till 11pm and gone for a work out after.  (Yes, I realize I have an issue with this).  I am seriously struggling with not being able to exercise on a daily basis.  (Apparently the risk of internal damage to my eye is quite high, and there’s also the risk of jarring out the stitches, etc.  See the dilemma?)

Anyway, I may need some support here, blog-world and friends, because the truth is, I’m way too stubborn and pigheaded and more than likely will not listen to doctor’s strict orders and will probably attempt to keep up with my regime.  Soooo…if anyone has suggestions on lower impact (a little higher impact than sleeping, please), I’m all ears.

Please and thank you.  🙂

Cheers!

~Sandy

One response

  1. Good luck with your eye surgery!

    For some reason, eye stuff really freaks me out. I’d have an anxiety attack, too.

    June 28, 2012 at 11:01 am

Leave a Reply

