Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Antiquing We Will Go

What a mahvelous weekend!  We had so much gorgeous sun the last few days and I couldn’t resist being outside and soaking it all up as much as possible.  And while taking advantage of the summer heat, Blair, Abby and I did some antiquing yesterday morning.  And I came away with some beautiful little pieces.

Some of the results of a morning well spent.

I found this be sweet little “A” and got it for Abby.  It’s got three little “diamonds” (who knows?  They could be real.) going vertically up the center.  It’s hard to really get a good idea of it from this shot because I took the photo with my phone, and well, my sight is always blurry. 🙂

Abby’s “A”

I saw this beautiful little artsy piece of the Virgin Mary and picked it up for my cousin, Elizabeth.  I know she will appreciate it.  Although, it’s going to be hard to let go of.   It’s so pretty.  Once again, my vision sucks and the photo isn’t as good as it could be but, hey, I have to live with it 24/7 so there!  🙂 🙂

Elizabeth’s Virgin Mary

This little silver cross needs some shining up but it’s quite lovely and I couldn’t pass it up.  This one I’m keeping.  🙂

“When you see the Southern Cross for the first time….”

This silver money clip needs to be polished up but it will make a sweet little keepsake for someone …with cash.

If you have the money to spare…

And for the piece de resistance (I should actually say pieces)…I am a huge nerd when it comes to many things, and one of them is collecting coins.  I love old coins…there’s something mysterious and adventurous in them.  So I was certainly happy to pick up a few new pieces for my collection.

Mo’ money

Several of them are they are all gems, including some older foreign coins from the early 40’s, a Halifax-Dartmouth Bridge Commission coin/token from God knows when?  This one is cool…and it, too, is Canadian:

I have some research to do

All in all, it was a great morning rooting thru other people’s things.  Blair was actually kind of impressed. Bonus!

Cheers!

~Sandy

3 responses

  1. The pendant is beautiful and I have a chain just perfect for it, a chain Mom gave me when I was a teenager… The rest of your gems are amazing… The money clip could be great for your Dad or even your brother… silver can be shined up with a bit of white toothpaste. That last coin looks like it will be fun to research… If you need help, you know who to call… me of course…

    July 8, 2012 at 9:47 pm

  2. Very cool! It looks like you really made out well!

    July 10, 2012 at 11:13 am

  3. Cool finds!

    July 11, 2012 at 11:46 am

Leave a Reply

