Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Burn Baby Burn

Dear Sun:  I used to really really like you.  Tonight, you’re on my list.

Today my friend Amy K and I had plans to hit the beach for the day.  The temperature was supposed to hit 31 degrees (44 with the humidex).  So up and at ’em early, we were; getting ready, packing up, getting together munchies, etc.

I picked her up around 11 and we made our way out to the lake.  We were the first ones there so we got the best spot at my favorite private hide-a-way (which more and more people are discovering, dammit), but since I don’t think anyone really needs to see me in a swimsuit, I am happy to deal with a smaller group of beach bums than a packed beach.

Chillin’ like a villain

We had a load of magazines, suntan lotion, ice water and good old conversation.   We slathered on the lotion and began our day of relaxing – reading fashion magazines, gossiping and reminiscing about high school.  There was a cool breeze by the water the whole day, which was wonderful.  Otherwise the heat would have been unbearable.

After a few hours I decided to hit the water.  Amy doesn’t really swim so she sat on the dock and splashed her feet.  But I swam quite a while, cooling myself off.  But as soon as the water hit my back I knew I had gotten too much sun.  My back was burning.  The water splashing on it was so ouchy.   I should have known better.

When I finished swimming we laid in the sun for a bit longer so we could dry off, have lunch, and honestly, we just hadn’t learned our lesson yet.

Of course, once home we’ve discovered the severity (and idiocity) of our burns.

OUCH!!

THIS IS WHY WE SHOULD LISTEN TO OUR MOTHERS!!!

Not only is my back crazy-ass burnt to a crisp (I wish this photo could really do it justice), so are my arms, the backs of my thighs, creases of my knees and my calves.

*sigh*  So dumb!

Anyway, I guess I will know better for next time.  Just because I can’t feel the burn….it’s likely happening.

As the Great Gazoo would tell me = I’m a dumb dumb.

I SHOULD have known better.

I hope to be smarter next time.

Cheers.

PS..that’s Winston in the background of my photo. 🙂

One response

  1. Amy

    Yup, I’m feelin the burn today! Whoa …What were we thinking?
    My back bothers me today but my legs are getting better. I woke up 3 times last night to dose them in after sun cream. I would for sure go to the beach with you again but make sure I put MORE sunscreen on!! Lol! Will we ever learn :). Probably not but I’m sure will be a little more careful.

    July 15, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Leave a Reply

