Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Mushroom Ravioli

This is going to be a lame post but here goes.

A few weeks ago I started seriously craving Mushroom Ravioli; which is very odd considering I’ve never had it.  In fact, I’d never even heard of it until Twilight.  I’ve always been a plain Jane kinda ravioli person, thanks to my dear friend Chef Boyardee (which I’ve stopped eating since I found out how much sodium is in a can).

A Pantry Staple…..mmmmm.

So yeah, it was weird to crave something I’ve never had but regardless, the craving didn’t subside.  So last week I went on the hunt for Mushroom Ravioli.  I checked online menus and asked around but no one seemed to carry this dish.

Then I got thinking about a place right here in my neighborhood called The Pasta Studio (http://thenoodle.ca).  Ross, The Noodle Guy, hand makes all of his pasta right there in his shop and uses fresh and local ingredients.  So I tracked down his email address and asked him about the ravioli (since the menu didn’t list it).  He replied that he was making a mushroom, swiss and dijon ravioli with a garlic and chive butter for the Farmers’ Market the next day and said he’d set some aside for me at the shop.

I picked up my order the next afternoon and could not wait to get my workout and chores done so that I could dive into it….it smelled so friggin’ good.  Well, let me tell you, it was delicious!  I gobbled it up.  I took the rest of it to work the next day for my lunch and Angie Whoreface and Kritt were completely jealous!   Although “JOEY DOESN’T SHARE FOOD!!!”, I was nice and let them both try some (just a nibble tho because, as I said, “JOEY DOESN’T SHARE FOOD!!!”).

Of course, now I’m hooked.  Although I know I can’t eat pasta all the time (way too many carbs for my exercise-addicted ass), I was delighted to find mushroom ravioli at the grocery store yesterday morning.  Needless to say I counted down the hours until I made dinner.

My ravioli was a little different but still yummy!

Mushroom Ravioli with homemade roasted garlic and red pepper “butter”.  Jealous?

My first bite!

Oh Winston…..I know you wanted some too but “”JOEY DOESN’T SHARE FOOD!!!”

I’m looking forward to hosting Girls’ Night so I can feed Angie Whoreface and Kritt and not yell at them for eating my damn lunch (I’m not gonna say it again.).

Cheers!

 

2 responses

  1. Cat

    Ugh, Sandy, Chef Boyardee is gross. I used to eat it too, bit it’s not real food. It’s closer to catfood than pasta. :S
    Now you have me wanting mushroom ravioli. Thanks a l

    September 2, 2012 at 10:02 pm

  2. Cat

    ot… Lol got cut off.

    September 2, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Leave a Reply

