Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

A LOOONG WEEKEND

This past weekend was a long one.  Yesterday was Labour Day and for the heck of it, I took today off as well.  It’s been a good one.

Friday night was uneventful but Saturday morning I was up extra early.  I got ran errands in the morning and then had a doctor’s appointment (my poor tailbone).

In the afternoon Amy K. and I went vintage shopping and I got some cool finds which I’m quite excited about (stay tuned).   Amy K. is one of my favorite people who I’ve hung onto since elementary school.  I’ve mentioned her before but figured she deserves a little shout out.  🙂

In the evening Blair and I went to a birthday party for my friends, Jaime and Steve.  Steve has been mentioned in my blog many times (in older posts when it was my ‘Weekend Update’ thingy) and Jaime you may recall from The Asshole Club (https://welcometosandyland.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/meeting-of-the-a-hole-club/).  She’s HILARIOUS.  I was excited to get to the party as it’s not often that Blair and I get to do things like that.  I savored the moment.

Although I really wanted a damn hot dog to roast over the fire (thanks for nothing, Steve 😉 ), Jaime was kind enough to let me chomp into her mini-cake.  I had a sliver and satisfied my craving for something to eat.  😀

The highlight of the night was bringing Jaime her sweet-ass gift.  I was ecstatic to give it to her….I believe she was ecstatic to receive it:

Happy Birthday, Asshole!

You may remember this poor little kitty portrait from here:   https://welcometosandyland.files.wordpress.com/2011/12/cat.jpg , which, not sure if I ever mentioned this but Jaime gave me the pic for Christmas.  It was the best gift.  I told her I’m looking forward to opening up my birthday present in a month’s time.   🙂

Sunday Blair and I vegged out in the morning and watched a movie until he left to pick up Abby.  I had a date with my nephews in the afternoon and we had a blast.  ( I also had a quickie visit with my girl Steph which always makes me happy since she’s so far away now and our visits are limited.)

I took the boys to the park, then to McDonald’s for lunch and to visit the playland, then to the Dollar store where I let them each pick out a toy.  Aunt Sandy is okay with buying “cheap gifts”, as my brother and S-I-L so kindly put it.

After dropping them off at dinner time I headed out to Blair’s for the night.  We had a relaxing evening ate veggie nachos.

Mmm…nachos.

The next day we were lazy again.  Actually, Blair was lazy (“IT’S LABOUR DAY!”), I am always up for an adventure.  Regardless, we lounged around in the morning and early afternoon.

My lap – his sleeping place.

Eventually, he got some energy and we went out for some exploring.  I left before dinner and hit the gym on my way home.  My tailbone is a little pissed at me.

This morning I had errands to run, which included getting my new passport photo taken.

Ready when you are, Steph!!

Then Angie Whoreface and I hit the beach.  We headed to Kingsport, which is so close but I haven’t been there in so long. It was nice.  The sun was shining and warm.  Angie and I tanned for a bit then walked down to the water.  Kingsport is a great spot but it can get pretty muddy.

Kingsport muck

Fortunately, we had enough sense not to lug our cameras with us down to the water…we were slipping and sliding and sinking.  Our ankles disappeared.  Thankfully we had a whole ocean of warm water to wash off…of course, we had to make our way back to our spot but we managed to get less muddy on the way back.

After going thru a few InStyle magazines and gossiping a bit, our stomachs got the best of us and we grabbed lunch on the “boardwalk”…a hot dog (again, thanks for nothing, Steve) and poutine.  Delicious.  Thank goodness for my work outs or my ass would be huge after this weekend.

We felt a little bad that Kritt was stuck at work so we sent her a love note:

WISH YOU WERE HERE!!!

Kritt’s reply:

“U slutsssssssssss! Sad Little Kitten”

We love you Krystal!  Next time.  PROMISE.  (Plus, I’m making you mushroom ravioli so shut yer trap! xoxo)

Of course, the long weekend can’t last forever and I’m home now and preparing for a short week at work (Yay!).   I had a great workout, threw the muddy gear in the laundry and made a yummy and healthy dinner (stay tuned).  Now Winston and I are waiting for a visit from my mom and a phone call from my love.  🙂

Hope everyone else had a great long weekend!

Cheers!

2 responses

  1. Cat

    I believe the correct term is “cheap toys”. LOL. Your gifts themselves are not typically cheap. 😉 that sounds like an awesome weekend, and uh, where’s *my* mushroom ravioli? *drool*

    September 5, 2012 at 8:29 am

  2. Kritt

    yayy meeeee!

    September 5, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Leave a Reply

