Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Well Ain’t THAT a Kick in the Pants?!

Ahhhh….dammit!!

So, here it is Monday and for the last five weeks I’ve been counting down to my my eye surgery which had been scheduled for tomorrow morning.

The plan was to work until noon today, then go to an appointment at the local hospital and then head home and get things prepared for tomorrow’s journey.

And not that I am looking forward to having eye surgery while I’m wide awake…at all!!  But I’ve finally sorta made peace with it and have been looking forward to eventually being able to have perfect vision again.

So this morning I got to work, began training my temporary replacement, confirmed my surgery and finished up some loose projects around my desk.

At 11:45 am I was called into the boss’s office where we discussed my temporary (2 week) hiatus, I received my ROE so that I could begin my sick leave paperwork this afternoon, got my “final” paycheck, and went back to my desk and my trainee.  At a few minutes to noon I get a phone call from the surgeon’s office…..

Cancelling my surgery!

WTF?  Are you serious?  Am I being Punked?  Where’s Ashton-Frickin’-Kutcher??

No, I was not being punked.  This was real.  And it screwed EVERYTHING up.

However. we got things straightened out.  My surgery is now booked for Thursday morning.  I got “reinstated” as an employee.  I finished my work day after my appointment and will continue the week thru until Wednesday afternoon where I will semi-relive a “Groundhog Day” a la Bill Murray.

FML.

Cheers.  🙂

One response

  1. Good luck tomorrow!

    September 26, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Leave a Reply

