Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Moo-ve!

Last night was class night and instead of driving all the way home and back again I, instead, opted to go to my mom and dad’s and let them feed me.  Before I chowed down   ate and ran   had dinner I went for my walk to keep up my lame post-surgery routine (only 3 weeks left to go!!!).

Not far from my parents’ house/where I grew up in rural Nova Scotia is a dairy farm;  so up and over the hill there are often stray cows grazing in the pasture.

Home, home on the range…

When I was 14 or 15 my good friend Kim was visiting and we decided to go for a walk and shortcutted thru the field.  Upon entering the field we lingered not-too-far from a cow.

Mad Cow Disease?

Now, as I said, I grew up in the rural area.  I’d been to farms. I’d seen cows before.  It wasn’t a big deal for me.  However, Kim grew up in the suburbs near the businesses and the malls.  She’d never been close to farm animals.  Especially not this close to a grazing cow.  My intentions were to ignore is: “Leave it alone and it will go away.”

I’m not sure exactly what happened next.  Did Kim make threatening eye contact?  Did she have an obnoxious air about her?  Did she piss off this cow in some unspoken way?  I have no idea what prompted it but the cow suddenly charged Kim….Mad Cow maybe?

It was like something out of a cartoon.

Here kitty, kitty, kitty.

The cow raced after Kim, she ran to get away from it and I ran after, laughing the whole time.

Two things happened:

a) Kim moved faster than I’ve ever seen her move…I’ve yet to see anyone run that fast again.

b) Kim, all 6 feet, 1 inch of her, leaped thru the air and over the fence that would soon separate her from her near-death experience.

That’s what I thought about on my walk yesterday as I strolled by a busy field of cows.  Good memories from my childhood.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

