Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

A Li’l Hocus Pocus

One night in the summer of ’93, while my dad was away on business and my brother was out doing his thing, my mom and I decided to go see a movie.  We saw Hocus Pocus.

I put a spell on you….

I was in high school and the thought of going to see a movie with my mom didn’t exactly top my list of cool things to do on summer vacation, but it was a treat.

It was July and it was a warm evening, as most evenings in July are.  I wore a cute little summer dress and a sweater and felt like a grown up that night, which is so strange because I don’t feel like a grown up most of the time now.  But that night was filled with simplicity and I remember it quite vividly.  For some reason, it was pure loveliness.

The movie, however, is another story.  It is neither lovely nor simple but it remains one of my favorite Halloween movies (even with its summer release).

And in the spirit of Halloween, I thought I might dwell on it for a moment and recommend it.  It’s a funny movie with some scares and a long list of celebrities:  Bette Midler, Sarah Jessica Parker, Kathy Najimy, Garry & Penny Marshall (who, BTW, play hubs and wifey – and they’re siblings….kooky!).

It’s funny and there are little nods to this and that that make it even funnier.  Of course there are some goofs and some things that don’t make sense or quite add up, but it’s Hollywood….there are many things in Hollywood that don’t add up:

Doug Hutchison (such a good actor) and wife Courtney….no way she’s 16, y’all!

Hocus Pocus is a fun movieand fine for the entire family to watch.  It’s nothing spectacular…it’s not going to win any awards but it’s fun.  And that’s what a Halloween movie should be.

Plus, it’s got cute little Omri Katz in it.  He’s adorable.

How YOU doin’?

Oddly enough, as I was thinking about this movie earlier in the week and planning to write about it once I found the time, I came across this:  http://thoughtcatalog.com/2012/25-little-known-facts-about-hocus-pocus/

To be perfectly honest, I don’t like realllly scary movies.  I like movies like Scream and The Craft and What Lies Beneath (tho I sometimes still close my eyes so I don’t see her face).  I like a little itty bitty scare.  Movies like The Exorcist (made me cry), The Ring, The Woman in Black (loved but hated….nearly wet my pants AND had to turn the lights on when Blair left for work in the morning).  So Hocus Pocus suits me fine.  I’m a bit of a baby*.

Cheers!

*Just to point out how much a scaredy cat I am:  Last night’s Halloween special of Grimm (have I said how much I love this show???) was creeping me out.  I turned it off and will watch the rest in daylight or with Blair.

One response

  1. Pingback: Hocus Pocus | Sandy the Social Butterfly

Leave a Reply

