Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Oh Halloween

When I was little, Halloween was always so much fun.  I loved getting dressed up…as anything I wanted.  No judgement.  I loved going trick-or-treating with my older brother.  We didn’t live in a “tons-of-houses-close-by” kind of neighborhood so after we hit the local homes we’d hop in the car with my mom and she’d drive us to the next batch of houses, while my dad stayed home to hand out treats.  We always had a blast (except for this one time when I fell out of the car at my grandparents’ home….that sucked).

But the rest of the time we had pure, innocent fun!  That’s so not the case when you get older.  Once you grow up and make the decision to go out for Halloween, either to the bar or to a house party or to a dance, things are completely different….and far from innocent.

Halloween is the one night (yeahhh right!) of the year when young ladies (I use that term loosely {PUN INTENDED}) try to out-slut themselves/each other.  It’s shameful but some women feel as if it’s almost a rite-of-passage.  I think about the self-esteem of these girls….and that’s coming from me: the low self-esteem Queen.

And since I’m on the subject, whatever happened to being creative and making your Halloween costume?  Back in my day half the fun of Halloween was coming up with your costume idea and being creative with it.  Not of this going-to-Spirit-Halloween-and-paying-seventy-bucks for a pre-made costume.  No.  Instead, we would have spent tons of time at second-hand shops agonizing over the in-the-bins, digging for the perfect piece to complete the ensemble.  And we came up with some pretty neat ideas (my brother’s best idea was a car accident victim, complete with blood and a crutch – he was in 6th grade!!**).

Over the years I’ve been the following:

My mom dressed my brother and me up as members of KISS when we were teeny-tiny – we had little black wigs and everything.

Princess Di (because I loved her and I was 6).

Old staples: A Vampire / A Witch / Bride of Frankenstein

as the Bride of Frankenstein

A HORRIFIC me as Bride of Frankenstein and my brother as Dracula. Seriously. FRIGHTENING..and not because of the costume.

Michael Jackson (circa his Thriller era….because I loved him)  **(my brother’s cool costume idea below)

as Michael Jackson and my brother as an accident victim (and yes, the photo is in a frame – Thanks Mom!!)

A Mermaid (made my costume and was told I had the best one of the night!)  (I was too fat in these photos and refuse to post any of them. Yikes.)

A Roaring 20’s Flapper Dancer

as a flapper…NOT Pocahontas, Dad!!

Don’tcha wish you could wear makeup like this all the time? So colorful.

In my older days when Halloween was done in pairs or groups:

An ex and I went as Regan and the Priest from The Exorcist (I wore my costume backward I looked like she did when her head spun around)

In high school two of my friends and I decided last minute to hit the senior class party.  We ditched afternoon classes, made our costumes and won first place for going as a Toothbrush, Toothpaste and Dental Floss

Kim as Toothpaste, me as a Toothbrush and April as Dental Floss (okay, this technically isn’t us but I couldn’t find any photos)

A few of us went as Charlie’s Angels

A few years ago a group of us went as Disney Princesses (I was Cinderella…duh)

Me as Cinderella, my friend Paula as a clothes hamper (original AND homemade), Jesse as Sleeping Beauty and Ames as Pocahontas

A group of coworkers and I rocked the KISS look again

Paula as Ace Frehley, Jesse as Paul Stanley, Tasha as Peter Criss , Me as Gene Simmons

The Yahtzee girls and I went as our tag names – so I was a Social Butterfly

V as Taken, H.Bo as Ice Princess, Ames as Applehoe, Me as Social Butterfly and Anic as Stun Bunny

All of these costumes were made or put together at home.  I’ve never purchased a costume and only ever rented once.   A few years ago I went as a peasant girl .  In all honesty, I really just wanted to wear that dress.

Me as a Peasant and two hoodrats I don’t speak to. 🙂

This year I really wanted to go as Bonnie & Clyde (circa Brenda & Dylan, 1991*)

 

Shannen Doherty and Luke Perry as Brenda and Dylan as Bonnie and Clyde

but Blair SUCKKKKS.  We missed all the parties we were invited to this weekend (again, b/c Blair sucks**!) but Halloween is Wednesday and I still have the option of dressing up after work.  We’ll see.  Time will be limited but I may come up with something groovy.

**Just a note that Blair said yesterday that I was already wearing my costume:  A Beauty Queen.  Lame, I know but it earned him a point.

Yes yes…I am all class. He’s a lucky man.

The more I think of it and the more I sit here and stew, the more determined I am to dress up this year.  Stay tuned.  Hopefully I will have something to report.

Cheers!

 

 

One response

  1. Brilliant photos!!!

    October 30, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Leave a Reply

