Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Christmas in November?

I’ve been noticing lately a lot of Christmas decorations on display already and I pose this question:  Is it too early to begin decorating for the holidays?

I would normally say yes.  I think it’s still quite early for homes to decorate and have Christmas trees decorated and lit up beautifully in living rooms.  Last week was Remembrance Day and, personally, I think it’s tacky to have Christmas decorations up before November 11.  Both of my grandfathers were fought in the wars.  They, along with so many others, made huge sacrifices, saw things that we only hope to never see, and did things I pray I will never have to do.  I think holiday decorating prior to Remembrance day is disrespectful and takes away from the one day dedicated to recognizing their efforts and sacrifices.

I especially think it’s tacky to have Christmas decorations up before Halloween.  And believe me, I’ve witnessed it all….Christmas lights twinkling, Christmas trees glowing thru windows as trick-or-treaters buzz by on the October streets.  I wonder what people are thinking.

But then I read this post (http://nuttygoodness.wordpress.com/2012/11/12/remember-christmas/) the other day.  Written by my friend, Anthony, it gave me a few things to think about and consider before I think early Christmas decorators are crazy.

The truth is, I don’t know what’s going on behind closed doors and what Anthony suggests is that the reason for an early Christmas could be a number of things (aside being crazy):  Perhaps the family inside has a sick child and wants to give him/her one last Christmas.  Or maybe a parent is military and heading overseas to Afghanistan or Iraq to peace-keep in the middle of war ground.  Maybe a home has been sold and the family wants to have one last Christmas morning in their home.  And maybe, just maybe, the person inside is crazy really loves Christmas.

So, the next time you see a Christmas tree or a Nativity scene set up in early November, consider other options before jumping the gun and assuming that crazy folk live there.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

