Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

BADASS

I spent my teenage years in the 90’s.  Which means (as I’ve posted several times before, like here blog-challenge-20-my-favorite-tv-show) I grew up watching Beverly Hills, 90210.  And because it was the 90’s and the show was addictive and these girls (Brenda, Kelly, Donna and Andrea) were meant to be role models, I kinda idolized Shannen Doherty.

Shannen Doherty played Brenda Walsh.  Brenda started out as a nice girl.  A bit of a drama queen, but still she was a nice girl.  But as Shannen Doherty’s real life antics and reputation began to catch up with her – or maybe it was vice versa – Brenda became more of a bitch and people hated them both.

Shannen was said to have been fired from BH, 90210 (but who ever really knows the truth, right?) because of attitude, conflicts and her personal life spiraling out of control.  But I never gave up on Shannen.  I have, and always will be, a fan.

I don’t want to say I was obsessed with Shannen/Brenda but I did revere her immensely.  She had style, she exuded confidence, she was (is) gorgeous and she told it like it was.    Like Jennifer Aniston started “The Rachel” hairstyle, Shannen Doherty started “The Brenda Bangs” and I wanted them soooo badly!

The most famous bangs of the 90’s

Unfortunately, I have naturally curly hair and the 90’s preceded hair straighteners (at least for me) and I ended up looking, as my friend Heather says, like I had a wallet stuck to my head!  (I was going to post a photo here of my 15 year old self with my Brenda Bangs but I decided not to do that to you. )

With the invention of hair straighteners, I could almost pull the bangs off these days. (Here, I was just playing around and had them *pinned* up…I did not go out like this.)

My first ever purchased* YM Magazine (is that even still made??) I picked up solely because Shannen was on the cover.

The golden goddess

(*My first EVER YM Magazine was purchased by my aunt, Donna, because it had Christian Slater on the cover and we both loved him.)

My very first YM with Christian Slater *sigh*….Love the 90’s.

In the 8th grade I had seen this photo of Shannen in Seventeen magazine (which I think I eventually ripped off from the school library – and felt bad so I donated a bunch of other crappy magazines to replace it):

The bangs, the coat…she’s so cool!

That summer, my mom and I were in the City shopping and I came across a similar one and my mommy, being as awesome as she is, bought it for me.

The jacket is the vibrant red as Shannen’s (just not in this pic.  And yes, I’m a bit of a hoarder.

It’s exactly the same color, although you can’t tell from the crappy picture.  And it doesn’t have the fur collar but other than that it’s the same one Shannen rocked.  Of course, in the *ahem* few years that have passed since Junior High I’ve gotten taller and longer and the jacket doesn’t quite work anymore.

Last year I really wanted Shannen’s book, BADASS.  And my lovely honey bunny bought it for me for Christmas.

Badass by Shannen Doherty

I finally got around to starting it the other night (I’ve been addicted to my John Grisham books, sorry Shannen) and it is very insightful.  We have a window into some of the things that caused Shannen’s bad girl behaviour, and for the most part, she owns up to it.  She’s now moved on from bad girl to Badass.  And she owns it!

If you have the opportunity, pick up the book (just please, don’t rip it off from your library) and give it a read.  And become a fan of Shanned Doherty once again.  She deserves a second chance.

Still beautiful. Still stylish. Still rockin’ the badass attitude. How effing cool is she!

And remember, don’t judge a book by its cover…unless the book is BADASS.

Cheers.

3 responses

  1. My fave 90s show was Clarissa explains it all!

    November 28, 2012 at 5:21 pm

  2. I loved her in heathers!!!!

    December 1, 2012 at 1:52 am

    • I know! I love Heathers too. Christian Slater was the king of the 90’s.

      December 1, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Leave a Reply

