Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

New Year’s Eve

Happy New Year’s Eve, Bloggers!

NYE Hat

I’m having a hard tome grasping onto the fact that today is the last day of 2012.  The year has gone by so quickly and so many things have happened in the last 364.5 days.  But 2013 will hopefully bring new and wonderful things for us all.

So, while I’m here, vegging out and preparing (nails are done, hydrating with coconut water, hair and make up soon) for the night’s festivities (a dance/party with live music, lots of friends and some booze and food I thought I’d share a quick story about a New Year’s Eve of past.

When I was in high school (yes….another high school story.  Sorry, but they really were the glory days.) my BFF, Kim and I went out one NYE with no particular plans.  Well, technically we initially headed to a small house party but we ended up being the only people there aside from my aunt and her new beau and *barf* it was just not the place for us to be (sorry Donna…PDAs on NYE were not for me).  So, we left shortly after our arrival and devised a plan:

We would drive in the direction of home but anytime we saw a house with tons of cars in the driveway we would stop and have a quicky celebration.  And we did.  We stopped at a few houses and each time we were welcomed in by the owners (or whoever it was who happened to open the door) and mingled and had a sip (I was driving) and slipped away unnoticed.  We had a blast doing this.  Our last stop of this kind was at the ginormous home of our friend, Holly.  We stopped in, rang the bell and her dad let us in.  I don’t think he had a clue who we were, and Holly wasn’t home, but we had a heckuva time “looking” for her.  Old People Loved Us!  It was great!!  I think we even popped up in a few photos.   Obviously these folks were fairly drunk and Kim and I had a good laugh.  We had drinks coming at us every which way (which we really did not indulge in – a) I was driving b) we’re not stupid – we weren’t looking for anything but good fun) and had some good “cheers”.  It was pretty hilarious.

Kim and Me...many many MANY moons ago.

Kim and Me on New Year’s Eve…many many MANY moons ago.

When we left there, the night was still fairly early.  At some point we met up with a few friends, including Holly, I ditched my car and we ended up a huge house party at another friend’s.  This party was crazy.  There were at least 200 people there – including the guy’s mother and stepdad (who, by the way, used to come into my work all the time and hit on me and ask me out for dinner and movies and once to go camping.  “Dude, I’m like 17. ” *puke* {Just a side note here that I had no idea that this guy was my friend’s stepdad.  In fact, when I saw him at the party I asked him what he was doing there and he said “this is my house” and then the introductions happened.  Awkward.)

Anyway, we stayed at that party for a few hours – well into the new year – but then the cops showed up or a fight broke out or maybe both.  I can’t quite remember.  But I remember we had to leave.  Once we left there we continued our night.  We drove around with some friends and maybe made a food stop.  But eventually it was time to go home (aka we ran out of things to do) but all in all we had an excellent evening.  And we rang in the new year the same way we always did: with fun.

New Year 2013

Wishing you all a safe New Year’s Eve.  Don’t drink and drive.  And Make Good Choices!!!!

Cheers!

5 responses

  1. On of my personal favorite New Years was the one we spent together!

    December 31, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    • I know! I should write about that. Good times, girl.

      December 31, 2012 at 3:05 pm

  2. oops ONE

    December 31, 2012 at 3:05 pm

  3. Happy new year!!!

    January 1, 2013 at 5:13 pm

    • Happy New Year to you too. Looking forward to your blogging in 2013.

      January 1, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

