Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

HAVE YOU TRIED……

                                                                                                     …PAKORA?

Nothing like a chick pea fritter!

Nothing like a chick pea fritter!

A week or so ago I was at a market (Pete’s Frootique) with my friend Amy K. and we were working ourselves around the deli section….frothing at the mouth.

In the line of salads and dumplings and several other interesting concoctions were these weird little fritters.  Amy said that we had to get them because they’re delicious and so I heeded her advice and bought one.

I waited ’til I got to Blair’s, warmed it up and gave it a whirl.  It was good.  It wasn’t great.  Something seemed to be missing from it but it was still okay.  A little different with each bite.  One kind of bland, another too spicy.  In the end it turned my stomach* (*this may not be fully blamed on the pakora but I tied to two together).

I would certainly give pakora another chance.  Just to be fair.  It’s always good to try something new.  Life is an adventure.  Eating should be too.

Cheers!

7 responses

  1. Amy

    Too me I thought it was good I like spicy stuff. I didn’t think it was bad for 2 bucks.

    January 23, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    • You’re right, for $2 it was a good deal. And it wasn’t too bad. I’m not a fan of spicy stuff but thank you for making me try it.

      January 24, 2013 at 3:04 pm

  2. omg, I eat pakoras like normal people eat…fries? 😉

    January 24, 2013 at 8:44 am

    • I look forward to trying it again. Maybe next time it’ll be better.

      January 24, 2013 at 3:03 pm

      • yeah, the thing with pakoras is they are an art in themselves but in my part of the world almost every mother has perfected that art. My mum makes these moist, partly spicey, completely awesome mouth watering pakoras. If you have a good Indian or Pakistan shop in your area, ask them for it even if they don’t make it on daily basis, believe me, we all love our pakoras!

        January 25, 2013 at 3:06 am

  3. Cat

    You need to try one from the Indian lady at the Wolfville farmers market, with the (mild) mango chutney to dip in. Yum! These can definitely turn out too dry and sort of meh. I love hers. And A even used to eat them! Once.

    January 24, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    • Take me there soon. Point out what’s good. 🙂

      January 24, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Leave a Reply

