Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Bye Bye Penny

Say Goodbye to the Canadian Penny.

Penny 2012

For those of you non-Canadians (and Canadians living under a rock) today is the last day for the Penny.  Well, technically, today is the last day the Canadian Mint (OMG does anyone else remember those ice cream bars??  YUM!)

*drool*

*drool*

Uh, yeah….what was I saying?  Oh yes…today is the last day the Canadian Mint will distribute the Penny.  This is kind of sad.  Yes, yes, I too bitch about getting a bunch of pennies back in my change and having to dig and dig looking for a Quarter are turning up 16 bazillion Pennies.

But what am I gonna do now?  How else am I going to get the lint out of my pockets??  It seems lint only ever turns up in a handful of Pennies.

Or, how are we going to pay for our Tim Horton’s coffee on those days we don’t have cash without counting out seven dollars in Pennies??

And how am I supposed to have continuous good luck if the Penny is gone?

LUCK

And if I ever decided to start playing the lottery how on earth would I scratch of my tickets??  Nickels just don’t make the cut.

And, OMG, how EVER will I figure out what someone is thinking??

THOUGHTSOne good thing that the Mint is promoting with the end of the Penny is to donate them to charities.  I think this a pretty generous idea.  The Penny will still be in circulation and is going to continue to be legal tender…so why not donate them if you’re that eager to get them out of  your household.

Anyway, I feel sad today.  I hate saying goodbye.  And who knows…maybe someday the Penny will be worth a whole lot more.

Penny

Cheers.

5 responses

  1. hi pretty! WASSUP???????
    I feel for you, we had our coins cut too a while back, but they were missed so much we got them back! 😉
    so, lets hope the same goes for you!! 😛 AND STOP BEING SAD!! I DONT LIKE THAT!
    Btw, I just thought I needed to give my friend something special, so here it is!
    Love from across the oceans….me!;-)
    http://themagfiqueway.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/reader-appreciation-award-i-feel-blessed/

    February 5, 2013 at 12:13 pm

    • Ahhhhh…this is superbly lovely. My first award ever! Thank you so very much, my friend. This is a wonderfully delightful way to start off my afternoon.
      I feel weepy. But in a good way.
      Thank You, Thank You, THANK YOU.
      xoxox

      February 5, 2013 at 12:19 pm

      • Now don’t be weepy, just be happy! The best thing is, it was my first award too! 😉
        and, I love you! :-*

        February 5, 2013 at 12:28 pm

  2. Listen, if iit will make you two feel better I can send you some shiney copper pennies I have 🙂 Ok? They don’t buy much any more though, just some ‘thoughts’

    February 5, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    • Hey, money’s money, right? Send ‘er on over. 🙂

      February 5, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Leave a Reply

