Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Crappy Valentine’s

In honor of this day of love and romance and all the garbage that goes with it I thought I would adorn you with my list of “Worst Romance Movies”.

1) The Object of My Affection

Object

Jennifer Aniston and Paul Rudd….what could go wrong?  Um, she’s knocked up and he’s her gay best friend whom she’s falling for.  I just really wanted these two crazy kids to make it work.

2) Random Hearts

random-hearts

I love me some Harrison Ford (LOVE HIM!).  He is always awesome but this movie sucked.  Harrison and Kristin Scott Thomas had zero chemistry.  Boring.

3) She’s All That

All That

Because Freddie Prince, Jr. didn’t like Rachel Leigh Cook until she got a makeover and deemed “cool enough” to hang with.  Lame.

4) Pretty Woman

Pretty_woman_movie

Because Julia Roberts played a hooker, y’all.  A hooker.  That’s not very romantic.

5) Untamed Heart

untamed

I loved Christian Slater (I still love you, Christian) when I was growing up.  And I was so excited to see this movie.  But then Christian Slater dies and it ruined my life night.  I cried all the way home from the theater.  It was traumatizing.  No movie is good if Christian Slater dies!

6) Mr. Wrong

mr_wrong

Seriously???  Any guy you put in this movie with Ellen would have been “Mr. Wrong.”  Big Duh!!

7) Remember Me

Remember_Me

Okay, I loved this movie.  But the crazy-ass M. Night Shymalan twist at the end will leave you stunned and uncontrollably sobbing and in awe and feeling like you just got punched in the stomach and really remembering.

8) Titanic

Titanic

Again, I love this movie.  It’s a classic and it was brilliant.  But I hate it too because Jack and Rose are so wonderful together and you’re really pulling for those two kids and then that damn boat sinks and all those people die and Rose loses Jack but then she starts a new life and then that heartbreaking song is playing and the whole time you’re weeping……it’s so stressful.  No movie should leave you feeling like you’re broken.  I cried for days.

Well there you have it!  My list of dreadful “romance” movies.  Fortunately, The Man is working this evening and I have a 3 hour date with the gym.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Heart

8 responses

  1. Are you old enough to remember a young Nicholas Cage in ‘Valley Girl’? It was so cheesy but I liked it in the end as the rocker got the girl. There seems to be no end to bad romance movies ~ Have a Happy Valentine’s Day Ms. Sandy!

    February 14, 2013 at 9:08 am

    • I am old enough but I don’t remember that movie. But most of Nicolas Cage’s movies are forgettable. 😉

      February 14, 2013 at 9:38 pm

  2. ahaahahahahaha! funny post, although I have to confess, I actually liked Pretty Woman, not because of the hooker part or anything, just because its total “fairy tale” kind of stuff (read: amazingly cheesy) and always makes me better when the non-existence of such romances puts me down.
    Plus, I love Julia!

    February 16, 2013 at 1:56 am

    • I liked Pretty Woman too…..I think people overlook the hooker thing and just jump right into the fairy tale bit. 😉

      February 18, 2013 at 8:39 pm

  3. tanyaslife

    LOL at “…it’s so stressful!”!

    March 30, 2013 at 1:30 am

  4. Pingback: Valentine’s ReBlog | Sandy the Social Butterfly

  5. Amy

    Pretty Woman had the worst ending line ever. It was such a let down it ruin the whole movie for me. Hated Titanic ! Love Bill Pulman. Watch him in Whike You Were Sleeping. Now that’s a romance movie!!

    February 14, 2016 at 9:47 pm

    • Yes, the “she rescued him right back” line was lame.

      February 15, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

