Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

City Sundays

This weekend The Man and I hit the City to spend some time with Emma-Roo.  We headed in Sunday morning and after picking up E.R. we stopped at the Starbucks/Chapters.  We don’t have a Starbucks (or a Chapters) outside the City (oh, we’re all Tim Horton’s folk up here) so it’s nice to go in on occasion and have a treat.  My favorite drink is the Peppermint Frappe made with non-fat milk.  It is so yummy and I only get it like, maybe once a month (if that) so I figure, why not indulge.  It was delicious.

Mmmm....and Sundays means it's calorie free.

Mmmm….and Sundays means it’s calorie free.

After scoping out several books in Chapters I came out with a few goodies.  Andrew Pyper is an author that I thoroughly enjoyed, even tho I’ve only read one of his books.  It was called Lost Girls and I pined after this book for the longest time until I finally received it as a Christmas gift from my wonderful S-I-L and brother more than 10 years ago.  It scared the shizz outta me (that’s what I get for reading a scary book at midnight) but it was a really good read and I’ve always wanted to read more of his work.  Thankfully, I saw his book The Guardians was on the discount shelf so I snatched it up.  Way to go, me!

Looking forward to reading this...during the day...with the lights on....with tons of people around.

Looking forward to reading this…during the day…with the lights on….with tons of people around.

I also picked up this healthy food book, which I’ve flipped thru but am looking forward to exploring.

superchargedfood

And on the way out the door, after paying for my items, I spotted Bazaar with my girl Drew on the cover so I grabbed it and ran back to the line.  I am a Drew Barrymore fanatic and usually pick up any magazine with her beautiful face featured on it.

My BFF, Drew

My BFF, Drew

After hounding sweet-talking The Man into detouring to the mall so I could hit H&M I was finally able to pick up the top I’ve been thinking about the last couple of weeks (https://welcometosandyland.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/here-kitty-kitty/).  I wore it today with a pair of black un-cut cords I bought in, like 1998 (they’re the closest thing I’ll ever get to skinny jeans), a black tuxedo jacket and the black stiletto booties The Man bought me for Christmas.  My hair was a little unruly with its curls this morning so I’m in full-on Rock Star mode.  My co-worker even commented that I look pretty sharp today.  And then she gushed over the kitty face on my shirt.  I mean, let’s be realistic….it’s adorable.

After our book and coffee shop stop and our detour to the mall we took Emma-Roo to a movie.  We saw Warm Bodies which was pretty funny.  E.R. and I laughed a lot and Blair didn’t fall asleep so he must have liked it too.

warm-bodies

 

All-in-all it was a good Sunday spent in the City.  I always love these days…the travel, the different scenery, the many options that aren’t always available outside the City (I saw that like we’re a bunch of hicks…we’re not.  I promise.), and of course, it’s always great to spend time with the family.

Cheers!

One response

  1. Ibitz

    My favorite treat in The City is an extra large caramel macchiato with 3 extra shots of espresso…. frig the low fat milk, honey if I am going to have a treat, I am going to make it worth it. But now I have found out that at Tan Coffee I can get the same drink… But who makes the best? Starbucks!!!!!! A long afternoon among all those lovely books in Chapters… Oh how I miss living in The City.

    March 5, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Leave a Reply

