Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

AMAZING!

no amazing

Know what word I hate?  “AMAZING.”

It has become one of the most overused words in the English language and, that being said, it has lost it’s meaning and emphasis for things that are actually amazing.

It’s used in everyday, common sentences: “That sandwich was amazing” and “Your hair looks amazing” and “OMG, his eyes are amazing.”

Amazing

Y’know people, there are things that are actually amazing.  That dude that got stuck in a cavern (Aron Rolston, “127 Hours“) and cut off his own hand so that he could climb out and survive…that was amazing.  That meteor that fell to the earth a few weeks ago and part of it clocked a guy in the face and he survived, that too was amazing.  Your eyeliner….not amazing.  The cappuccino you just had from Starbucks…not amazing.  The song playing on the radio….great, but not amazing.

I also really, really hate the phrases “I know, right?” and “Just’ sayin.'”  Grrrr!  These all make me want to bang my head on a wall.  I don’t know what it is that irks me so much…the fact that everyone and their dog seem to be using these “catch phrases”  (now, a dog speaking a catch phrase…that would be amazing) or perhaps it’s that they’re semi-redundant (i.e. You don’t have to say “Just sayin'” because you just said).

Anyway, moving on, I know I am anal when it comes to grammar and spelling and all that jazz but if I don’t stand up and support proper English and the death to random OVERUSED words and phrases, then who will?  I think my ability to make it thru each day without using any of the above mentioned words/phrases is, in itself, pretty amazing.

wink-emoticonCheers!

3 responses

  1. I use Amazing way too much, I know. Its a filler. I try to think of similar words. Another misused, over done word of mine is ‘Awesome’. Ms. Anal-grammar-Sandy can you think of suitable replacements for these words so I don’t appear so vocabularily challanged?

    February 28, 2013 at 8:21 am

    • For things that aren’t actually amazing (aka most things) try saying “interesting” or “wonderful” or “impressive”…and if all else fails…just say it’s “cool” because “cool” is like The Fonze and it will never go out of style.

      February 28, 2013 at 7:38 pm

  2. Pingback: Angels Walk Among Us | Sandy the Social Butterfly

Leave a Reply

