Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Dance to Your Own Drummer

Remember the band, A-Ha?
aha

They are a Norwegian pop group and back in the mid 80’s they had a smash hit “Take on Me” that topped the charts with it’s poppy, catchy beat. Do you remember it? If not, here’s a little refresher:

So, last Monday in Zumba class we danced a new routine to “Take on Me” but I had such a hard time focusing because all I really wanted to do was bust a move on my own to the song…reminiscing un-aesthetically pleasing 80’s dance moves that resembles something of a fit. I did my best to hold off and just follow along with the coordinated routine to make the most out of my fitness class.

However, when Thursday night’s class rolled around and the song was played, co-hort Tina and I just let loose and bounced around the room to our own drummers. I let the music get me.

And I don’t regret it. I went home that night and added the song to my iTunes so that it will always be on hand when Winston and I have our Friday night dance parties.

Don’t judge me.

Cheers.

5 responses

  1. I used to love that video although the guys look like Patrick Swayze and the two girls from anothr 80’s sitcom. So, in class, did you jump into the wall like in the video? Did they ask you to leave?

    April 15, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    • In class I actually morphed into a cartoon and danced the night away.

      April 15, 2013 at 4:27 pm

  2. Amy

    Every time I heard this song I think of the episode of Family Guy lol. I can heard and see it now :). Go to you tube and watch it. They did there own version of this song. Lol.

    April 15, 2013 at 6:12 pm

  3. That song is now stuck in my head.

    Zumba…I keep wanting to try that, and then I chicken out.

    April 16, 2013 at 10:56 am

    • Do it. Dooooooo ittt!!

      It’s so much fun. If you go and don’t take yourself too seriously you’ll have a blast.

      April 16, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Leave a Reply

