Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Big Fish

I saw this photo (one of many) today.

Yikes!

Yikes!

This monster fish was caught in the Bay of Fundy, here in Nova Scotia. This is just another example of WHY I DO NOT GO IN THE WATER!!!!!

Good Grief! Imagine if this is just the baby? That would mean there’s an angry mama (and papa) out there, swimming around, waiting to take revenge on the fisherman who caught their baby.

WAIT….it gets better.

Do I really need to give more reasons to swim in pools???

Do I really need to give more reasons to swim in pools???

This fish was caught in Yarmouth, Nova Scotia in 2004 during the annual Shark Scramble** (derby) {Which I totally do not agree with, BTW}. This beautiful Mako is one of the scariest things I’ve seen. Wanna know why? Because it’s too effing close for comfort, that’s why. Nova Scotia is known as Canada’s Ocean Playground (no really, that’s what it says on our license plates). Our tiny province is surrounded by water…the Gulf of Saint Lawrence to the north, the Bay of Fundy to the west, the Gulf of Maine to the southwest, and Atlantic Ocean to the southeast. Last year a Great White Shark was caught in our Bay of Fundy and last summer a shark washed up on the shore not too far from where we live. My friend Sam got some great pics with it.

Rumor is that the shark got caught on that wharf thingy and drowned.  *sad face*

Rumor is that the shark got caught on that wharf thingy and drowned. *sad face*

Look man, I LOVE sharks. Love them. I look forward to Shark Week every year, I’m fascinated by sharks. I really wanted to study oceanography. BUT, that would require me going in the water and baby won’t do that. HELL TO THE NO!! At this point in my life I do not like going in lakes. Even man-made lakes. Because we really don’t know what’s in there. (I really need to thank Blair for making me watch River Monsters. Really.) When I went to Mexico a few years ago I made sure that, when I was swimming, I a) Didn’t go out too deep b ) stayed really close to that chunky hairy guy because he had more meat on his bones and would be more satisfying to the appetite.

I’ve seen photos and heard legends over the years about the sturgeon and the trout and the halibut and the sharks in the waters of Nova Scotia. Now that I’ve continuosly seen proof I am even happier to marinate in sunscreen and bake on the beach.

**Check on the site of the Yarmouth Shark Scramble for info, pics and verification on the story: http://www.yarmouthsharkscramble.com/

Cheers!

3 responses

  1. That first shot reminded me of the show ‘River Monsters’ or it was a photo enhanced ugly-ass flounder. All i know is when these monsters get a good look at me feet, and my toes…they know to stay away! ~ i luv the ocean, like i t better when I can see the bottom though

    May 23, 2013 at 12:01 am

  2. Is it wrong that the fish is scaring me more than the shark?

    May 27, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    • Not at all. Sharks are expected to be crazy-big. I wouldn’t think a fish could grow that size but isn’t it rumored that the Loch Ness Monster is actually a giant sturgeon??

      May 28, 2013 at 7:45 pm

Leave a Reply

