Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Tom Skerritt is Fine!

Remember Picket Fences?  That quirky melodrama from the 90’s that launched the career of Holly Marie Combs?  Well, I loved it.  So, a few weeks ago I decided to re-watch the entire series.  And although I’ve just scraped the surface of Season 3 (there were 4 seasons), I’ve fallen in love all over again.

picket_fences-show

David E. Kelley is brilliant.  The writing is excellent: the show serves as a PSA for almost every topic under the sun (including medicine/science, religion(s), law, race, sex) while touching on the relationships of family, friends, coworkers and community.  And the casting is superb.  Fyvush Finkel will make you laugh as well as break your heart, Zelda Rubenstein is sweet and tough and funny, Kathy Baker, HMC, Lauren Holly, Don Cheadle, Costos Mandylor (who could have used a few more acting lessons whilst filming this show), Kelly Connell, and My Favorite Martian‘s Ray Walston.  But, the apple of my eye in this show is, was and always has been Sherriff Jimmy Brock aka Tom Skerritt.  The man is fine.

Sherriff Brock

Blair and I had a chat about this last night when I mentioned that my other future-husband, Harrison Ford, celebrated his 71st birthday last week.  I stated that next month Tom Skerritt will be 80.  EIGHTY!!!  And the dude is still hot.  Blair told me I was gross.  Whatevs.  Tom Skerritt is hot.

So yeah, back in the Picket Fences day I had a huge day-dreamy crush on Mr. Skerritt (although I think we should be friends, in this case I actually am not comfortable yet addressing him by his first name – unlike my other future friends: Drew, Harrison, Norman, Cole).  I found him bright and sexy.  I could understand why Drew wanted to seduce him in Poison Ivy – although that movie scarred my 15 year old self – hello, Hot Dad!!

I LOVE YOU BOTH!!

I LOVE YOU BOTH!!

The man was voted one of People’s Most Beautiful:

People

AND he got his own Guess? ad, which we know, back in the 90’s, was a humdinger of a thing.  Guess? ads put people on the map!

Guess

(**Note: I had both of these plastered on my wall back then…)

He is like a fine wine and has only gotten better with age (no seriously, check him out as a younger version of himself – potential dorkiness):

Young Tom

And can embrace a Movember mustache every day of the year.

"I'm sexy and I know it."

“I’m sexy and I know it.”

And Mr. Skerritt is still working.  He’s had two releases in 2013 and is currently filming.  You can check out his IMDB bio HERE.  In the meantime I’m going to sit at my desk and reminisce about my youth, Picket Fences and my future friendship with Mr. Tom Skerritt.

Cheers.

5 responses

  1. I saw he has a show at Ocean City next week! Good luck Ms. Butterfly! I’m rootin for ya!

    July 17, 2013 at 2:36 pm

    • Waaaaaiiittt a second>>>>>Tom Skerritt has a show in Ocean City next week? What kind of show? Will he be joining Ian Ziering in the Chippendales?? Okay, if booze and sunshine wasn’t enough to entice to visit Jersey, I’m definitely in now!!

      July 17, 2013 at 2:46 pm

      • lmao I guess he would be in the Charlesendales at his age though. Yes,, yes free booze, hot sun, warm donuts and Mr Skerritt signing autographs…in his shorts

        July 17, 2013 at 2:55 pm

      • Okay…you have to find me some information on this because I search “tom Skerritt” and “Ocean City” together and I get zilch. Zilch I say!
        MMMmmmmmm booze, sun, warm donuts. I’m having a Homer Simpson moment.

        July 17, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      • I hear ya Homer.. Did you look under the one kids’s amusement pier called “FantasyLand” ? You’ll have the booze and shades on in the sun and you just have to imagine the rest. …with Tom

        July 17, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Leave a Reply

