Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

OHMIGOD HEATHER – WE HIT A HAND!!!! (Possible Redux)

I’m not sure if I’ve told this story here before….I’ve told it so many times over the years and it never fails to get a laugh.

hand

So, my story starts off kind of sad….when I was in college, my accounting prof was dealing with depression, apparent alcoholism, etc.  And on Christmas Eve of that year he took his life.  A sad situation indeed.  And this put our class, the staff, the school in a bind because it was obviously something unexpected and the school needed to find us another accounting instructor.  Eventually they did for the remaining semester but when the new semester began, a completely different instructor was hired and things sort of just got out of hand.  And our class was waaaaay behind.

When the semester ended and everyone else was finished school, working, on practicums, or simply on vacation, our class was stuck at school for weeks doing nothing but accounting.  All.Day.Long.

My school BFF Heather (H.Bo) and I, aside from being in class together, were also student council reps, assistant co-pres,co-chairs of the social committee and co-chairs of most committees the school offered, including the awards committee, commencement committee, etc. etc.  So, the two of us were basically in school from 8am – 11pm every day.  In between spending hours in the lab working on our accounting and going to meetings, I also had physio daily (for the ankle I’d broken to bits weeks before), so I was dropping everything to be at the hospital for my appointments then returning to school to tend to everything else.  It was exhausting.   For both of us.

So, one evening, after a very looong day at school, Heather and I headed out to grab a bite for dinner (we spent a lot of time at the BK Lounge back then).  We were very tired and the mood very solemn.  We hadn’t said a word to each other in many, many minutes (other than to give our order at BK) from sheer exhaustion.  But as we were heading back to school something came over me; I threw my arm out the passenger side window and let my hand slap against the windshield and screamed “OHMIGOD HEATHER….WE HIT A HAND!!!!

At first, Heather’s reaction was one of “WTF???” but then she and I both burst out laughing.  Hysterically.  It broke the mood, reenergized us and I think we continued to laugh for the next three days.

You can read about the Things I Learned in College here.

Cheers!

2 responses

  1. Did you go back to see if the hand was alright? Did it have a beer in it?

    July 25, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    • The hand was thankfully fine…still claps and everything. 😀

      July 25, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

