Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Happy Shark Week

Shark Week

 

Well Peeps…it’s Shark Week 2013 – which I find very exciting – and to kick off the Shark celebration I decided to deviate from my John Grisham books to re-read JAWS once again.  I read it every couple of summers and I figured, hell, this is as good a time as any.

Jaws BookI love this book.  It’s an easy read and a book you just can’t seem to put down.  Although it’s quite different from the movie, I still love it.  But seriously, nothing will really ever top JAWS….not even Sharknado (insert joke here).  In honor of Shark Week, the powers-that-be should consider airing Sharknado once again*…y’know…just for a good laugh.

*Note: As much as I love Ian Ziering and would love him to recap his role of Steve Sanders (or anything else for that matter), I could not, would not bring myself to watch Sharknado…that disaster of a movie.  However, if I can view it for what it is: A comedy/parody, I may be able to sit thru it.  ……………….. On second thought….probably not.

I also decided that today, being a gorgeous August scorcher, I would go swimming.  In a pool.  Surrounded by chlorine and walls and tons of people.  No sharks.  But I thought of them.

So, now that the Shark Week kickoff is near, I’m going to sit with a glass of white wine (in honor of the great white shark – duh!), wearing my H&M JAWS t-shirt:

Jaws shirt

And sit in awe and admiration of the giant machines we’ve been bread to fear.

Nothing quite as beautiful as a shark breaching

Nothing quite as beautiful as a shark breaching

Sometimes I wish they could be a little more like this so I wouldn’t be afraid of the water:

Cheese.

Cheese.

Happy Shark Week, y’all!!

Cheers!

 

3 responses

  1. I think you should opt for a glass of red wine combined with a rare piece of steak…or burger. I have a story of when my kids met Jaws!!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frIE4bRXnBk Happy Shark Week!!

    August 5, 2013 at 10:35 am

    • Oh my…that video was too cute. 🙂
      Red wine and a bloody steak it is!!

      August 5, 2013 at 9:09 pm

  2. This is the first time ever I’ve been able to watch Shark Week (I never had cable). I’m loving it!

    August 6, 2013 at 10:47 am

Leave a Reply

