Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Tragically Hip

The Tragically Hip (or simply referred to as The Hip by fab fans) are a Canadian favorite. The band formed in 1983 and have maintained a crazy cult fan following. There’s something in Gord Downie’s sometimes shakey-quakey voice that will hook you from the start.

I kind of ignored The Hip when I was in my mid-teens…I didn’t think they were “my type” of music but to be honest, I hadn’t really given them a chance. Then when I did I ended up borrowing (aka stealing) my brother’s CD and played it on rotation for days. (Yes, I still have the CD. This is probably why people shouldn’t lend me things…then again, he didn’t lend it…I simply took it from his room without his knowledge or permission. *big grin*)

Anyway, I’ve seen The Hip in concert a few times are they certainly put on a great show. And they’re a favorite for local bands to cover. I’m recommending them so check them out.

A few favorites:
New Orleans is Sinking

Blow at High Dough

Wheat Kings

You can read more about The Tragically Hip here or check out their website http://www.thehip.com/

3 responses

  1. The title here caught my eye. My wife says I am so NOT (Tragically) Hip. She says if I were ‘down’ any more (with the in crowd) I would be helium

    August 9, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    • I hope you check out their tunes. 🙂 Since I posted this blog I can’t get Wheat Kings outta my head. Such a good song.
      Maybe your wife thinks you’re Huey Lewis-y and you’re Hip to be Square. 😀

      August 9, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Leave a Reply

