Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

A Foot-in-Mouth Moment

Many years ago I had a friend approach me about a job. She was a manager of a local drug store and asked me if I would come work for her part-time for the Christmas season in the cosmetic department. I was already working full-time as a supervisor for another company and my shifts were normally 5am-2pm and really didn’t want to take on another job. But she begged me and said I was the only person she knew who used and knew how to apply makeup so I told her I would do it if they could schedule around my already existing schedule. No problem.

So, I was working 7 days a week – Monday – Friday I was working my regular full time shifts; then some evenings I would work from late afternoon (basically giving me enough time to get home, shower and change clothes) til store close at 9 – getting me out of the store between 9:30/10pm – and then I’d have weekend shifts at the drug store. I was tired and cranky. But I enjoyed the job for the most part.

One Friday night I left work extremely cranky. I was supposed to go to a Christmas party but was unable because of my shift and because of a wee snow storm (turns out no one made it to the party anyway so my crankiness was all for naught – yes, I just said “naught”). I had worked extra long that day and when I left work at 10pm I was starving so I decided to pull into Subway to grab a sandwich to take home. The snow was coming down but the storm had let up for the most part. As I was walking toward the restaurant door a young guy came out and slipped in the snow going ass-over-tea-kettle.
slip-fall-ice

Me, being kind of a jerk and also being surprised at what had just happened, burst out laughing (as I am laughing now as I type this). It was the funniest thing. I felt bad but at the same time it was freakin’ hilarious. Anyway, he got back up, held the door for me as I entered the restaurant.

I got my sub and went back to my car. As I was getting ready to back out of my spot I saw the guy jump out of his car and come running toward me. Holy F..K!!! I thought. I’m gonna get my ass kicked.

Dude came right up to my car and started knocking on my window. I was terrified. I didn’t know what would happen next: if he was going to stab me in the eye or smash my window. My door was locked but I rolled down my window a tiny bit so he could talk (I was ready for a verbal ass-whooping). He said “I’m sorry, I just think you are so beautiful and I waited for you to come back out so I could come over and ask you out.” WTF? Whaaaat??
say-what-nc

This dude was so sweet (and cute). Even tho I’d laughed at him after he face plowed into the snow he totally pulled a Lloyd Dobler.
say-anything

Although he nearly made me shit my pants from thinking some psycho was going to tear me a new one, he actually turned my night around.

Cheers!

3 responses

  1. “and because of a wee snow storm (turns out no one made it to the party anyway so my crankiness was all for naught”
    Was it a moo point? 😉

    September 18, 2013 at 11:13 am

    • It’s like a cow’s opinion. 🙂

      September 18, 2013 at 11:21 am

  2. Pingback: Karma Just Kicked My Ass | Sandy the Social Butterfly

Leave a Reply

